Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

problems hooking up wireless router to time warner modem

This is a discussion on problems hooking up wireless router to time warner modem within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a wireless G router made by dynex. I would like to hook it up to a time warner

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-05-2008, 12:44 PM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
OS: vista


I have a wireless G router made by dynex. I would like to hook it up to a time warner cable modem. I spoke to the time warner person and he told me that thier was a code I could get off of the internet to configure my router to the modem. The only catch is (and I'm not sure if this makes a difference) the modem is running to a computer that has windows 98. I'm not sure if the modem is set up to only run with windows 98. the modem was recently installed so it's not an old modem. my laptop run's on windows vista. Can i run both through the wirless router? I would really appriciate the help. Thank you

scott78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2008, 11:57 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 51,044
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System

There is no "code" that I know of that you need, a cable modem should be PnP out of the box with most broadband routers. The only thing you need to configure is the wireless on the router as a rule.

Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following command:


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:31 AM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts