Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Problem Wwith Wireless Router

This is a discussion on Problem Wwith Wireless Router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello I have a D-link wireless router which i assumed still work fine and havent messing around with its settings


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2013, 07:29 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brunei
Posts: 699
OS: Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (x64)

My System


Hello I have a D-link wireless router which i assumed still work fine and havent messing around with its settings since the first day i bought it (except adding password)..

Well my computer is connected to the router via cable.. and my phone is connected to the router via wireless..

My problem is, my computer is connected to the internet but at the same time my phone isn't ... what is the problem here? i think its the wireless tho... but this happens like randomly but occasionally.. how to fix this? never tried resetting the router to factory settings tho.. would do that if it helps... or is this the sign that the router began to malfunction?

please advice, thank you :)

__________________
d_animality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 08:14 AM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



You don't mention configuring your wifi. I take "except adding password" as you changed the default password for the logon admin account which is a good thing.

Please click on my signature and post the requested information especially the xirrus screen shot capture.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 11:08 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brunei
Posts: 699
OS: Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (x64)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
You don't mention configuring your wifi. I take "except adding password" as you changed the default password for the logon admin account which is a good thing.

Please click on my signature and post the requested information especially the xirrus screen shot capture.
Hi... ive downloaded xirrus but i dont know how to use it.. ive installed it in my PC which use the direct cable instead of wireless... can it detect the router connection as well?

or shud i install it on a laptop that use the wireless? cause im only using phone for my wireless and a desktop... :S
__________________
d_animality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 08:13 AM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



I missed that it was only your phone connecting wirelessly or not in this case. Forget the xirrus screen shot. It requires a wifi card to work.

Did you follow your routers manual for setting up the wireless on your router?
What level of encryption? [wep/wpa/wpa2]
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2013, 03:43 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brunei
Posts: 699
OS: Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (x64)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
I missed that it was only your phone connecting wirelessly or not in this case. Forget the xirrus screen shot. It requires a wifi card to work.

Did you follow your routers manual for setting up the wireless on your router?
What level of encryption? [wep/wpa/wpa2]
i only use WEP key for encryptions.. and this settings been set the first day i bought the router... never been touched since then..
__________________
d_animality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 07:51 AM   #6
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



Wep is no security at all. It can be hacked in minutes. FYI

Does your phone see your wifi network?
Are you inputting your wep key into your wifi setup for your phone?
Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:02 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Brunei
Posts: 699
OS: Win 7 Ultimate SP1 (x64)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
Wep is no security at all. It can be hacked in minutes. FYI

Does your phone see your wifi network?
Are you inputting your wep key into your wifi setup for your phone?
yes.. its connected to the wifi.. but sometimes theres no internet access from it... that makes me curious.. and sometimes it works flawlessly :S
__________________
d_animality is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 08:14 AM   #8
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,407
OS: Vista/Win7



So you have in intermittent connection issue. Any other wifi devices having this issue? Friends can connect?

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wireless router with DHCP problem
Dear all, Recently i had suffering with wireless connection problem, currently my wireless router connected to WAN directly, after that go into firewall and then go thru switch to end user PC, for LAN user there is no issue, but for wireless connected PC it is prompted with limited connectivity...
Vny Networking Support 2 09-26-2011 11:33 PM
[SOLVED] A modem, wireless router, and more wired ports
My latest wireless router just died so it's time for a new one. I have a modem that has 4 ports, and I had one going to my wireless router and from the wireless router, I had 4 wired computers. <cable internet> I added 3 more computers directly to the modem for a total of 7 computers via 2...
silvergoat Networking Support 7 09-19-2011 11:01 AM
Trying to make a wireless connection from a wired and wireless dlink router
We have an office which currently has a dlink dsl-g504t wired router running which provides internet to 3 wired desktops. What i am trying to do is add our dlink dsl-g604t wireless router via ethernet to create a wireless network in the central lounge (better range throughout house), using the...
nickfew Networking Support 4 08-14-2011 04:24 PM
Problem connecting wirelessly to Linksys WRT150n wireless router.
Hi. I am currently at a friends house attempting to fix a situation he is having with his' wireless router, it is a Linksys WRT150n. Connection to the internet is possible via ethernet connectivity, however wireless is another story, devices can see the network but cannot connect to it, i...
butanic panda Networking Support 1 05-13-2011 07:39 AM
Wireless router WEP problem
I recently had to unplug my desktop and router whilst decorating and when I came to set everything up again, I found I had problems getting things back to normal. My set up is as follows: Virgin broadband internet, desktop PC and wireless laptop, using DLink DIR-301 router. I previously...
keeptrying Networking Support 9 02-28-2011 12:40 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts