Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Phone knocks me off internet

This is a discussion on Phone knocks me off internet within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been having a problem with my internet recently, everytime someone call my housephone or someone at my house

Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2011, 04:03 PM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3

I have been having a problem with my internet recently, everytime someone call my housephone or someone at my house call out the internet goes out until our modem is reset. From the wall jack there is a spliter, one wire goes to a dsl filter then the telephone, on the other a wire goes directly to our westell 7500 modem. The modem has a wired connection to a desktop computer, and is connected to a few devices wirelessly. We have a dsl connection to Frontier Communications. What could be wrong, btw i recently replaced the dsl filter hoping it helped, it didnt.
dillion.bowman is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:05 PM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 52,358
OS: Win7

Do have a filter on every phone?
Wrench97 is offline  
Old 08-03-2011, 04:40 PM   #3
TSF Emeritus
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 16,395
OS: Vista/Win7

Doesn't appear the new filter is working any better than the old one did.
You did the correct thing by replacing the filter.

Old and new filters specs match? They should. I would put a trouble ticket in with Frontier. They may need to do some tweeking at their end.
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 08-04-2011, 01:16 PM   #4
Registered Member
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 6
OS: xp sp3

we only have one phone and yes there is a filter on it, yesterday after posting the original question i had to replace the filter because the phone went completely out, and i have thought about calling frontier, i plan on doing that if the probem persists, thanks for the quick responses.
dillion.bowman is offline  
Old 11-05-2013, 06:29 PM   #5
Registered Member
FrankTheBuffalo's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Win 7 / CLI / Android / iOS


I laugh every time I see this as a Frontier field tech. ADSL filters are NOT bi-directional... you have a filter backwards! The filter plugs into the WALL, not the PHONE. Make sure your filter is connected directly to the wall, THEN the phone. ie, jack receptacle, splitter, filter, line cord, phone. To eliminate that whole splitter/filter confusion, I say you should call in and request a field tech come out to install a "NID Splitter." More on that below:

I recommend every ADSL customer, no matter who your phone company is, get a full install.
- There needs to be an ADSL splitter installed at the Demarc outside the house/building, and a homerun (direct line) to the DSL jack to get a decent signal quality.
- Specifically request that your line be groomed. This means conditioning the line to provide the best possible sync rate for your ADSL modem. We would cut bridge tap (google it), eliminate load coils (google it) and provide the shortest loop length with the biggest gauge wire (26awg is baaaad for DSL) possible.
- Also, I highly recommend you call in to ask if you are currently on an Adtran DSLAM, and if not, request to be migrated if one is available. Ill post why below.

- Pro tip: With Frontier, we've been overhauling our ADSL network. We are using Adtran TA5000, and "pole mounted" variants such as the Adtran TA1148a and v to provide newer, faster, and more robust flavors of ADSL2+, as well as adding the capability of Bonded ADSL2+, ADSL2+ Annex-M (Annex-M is tentative, currently its Annex-A), and VDSL2. Currently the highest speed available over our VDSL2 platform is 40/10 in select markets.

For those that are lucky enough to have Fios (fiber to the premise), its a no brainer. Same cost as DSL, but insanely fast internet.
FrankTheBuffalo is offline  
Old 11-15-2013, 11:14 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es

Thread is Ancient, it is now Closed!
2xg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Virus/Trojan Problems
Amateur. First may I thank you for responding to my request for help. I have compiled the following List of Problems that I am aware of on my computer. Windows is being stopped from updating. Trend Micro is being stopped from updating.
Jack Willday Inactive Malware Help Topics 65 07-13-2011 01:57 AM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-23-2011 12:42 AM
Microsoft Survey Reveals Extent of Emerging Internet Phone Scam
From Microsoft Press Release
koala Computer Security News 1 06-16-2011 12:52 PM
I think I have a rootkit
Hello Techs. There is something wrong with my computer. It doesn't boot with a usb connection plugged in such as storage device etc. etc. It only goes to error page where I have 30 seconds or whatever to select how I would like to boot windows and which operating system etc. It will do this until I...
delaney14 Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 14 04-24-2011 10:03 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 04:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts


Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com