Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Old Netgear router won't work with new modem

This is a discussion on Old Netgear router won't work with new modem within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello everyone! Something went wrong with my modem and I had to get a new one. The modem works fine


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-14-2010, 12:59 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
OS: Snow Leopard



Hello everyone! Something went wrong with my modem and I had to get a new one. The modem works fine but my router isn't working. I tried just reconnecting it the modem and that doesn't work. I was told I would need the install disk, but I have misplaced it. I went to the netgear site and it said that the disk isn't needed and I would just have to connect the router to the computer and do it through there with the website they provide. So, I did this and It was asking for IP addresses and other things that I wouldn't know where to find. Thats pretty much where i am at right now. I can provide as much information as neeed.

__________________
sneezypanda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2010, 01:27 PM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You don't need the disk. Here's a basic setup procedure for most broadband modems.



The following procedure should get you a connection with any broadband modem that is configured to use DHCP for the router connection, such as cable modems, and many DSL modems. If you require PPPoE configuration for the DSL modem, that will have to be configured to match the ISP requirements.

Note that the wireless encryption and channel selection will have to be done after the basic wired connection is established, the first step is to get wired connections working.

  • Reset the router to factory defaults by holding the reset button down for 15 seconds with power on.
  • Turn off everything, the modem, router, computer.
  • Connect the modem to the router's WAN/Internet port.
  • Disconnect any USB connection to the modem, it will not be used.
  • Connect the computer to one of the router's LAN/Network ports.
  • Turn on the modem, wait for a steady connect light.
  • Turn on the router, wait for two minutes.
  • Boot the computer.

When the computer is completely booted, let's see this.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

NOTE: For the items below in red surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous command output!

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

IPCONFIG /ALL

PING <computer_IP_address>

PING <default_gateway_address>

PING <dns_servers>

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
Paste the results in a message here.

<computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

<dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.


If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts