Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Network Security Key Mismatch? WEP Key

This is a discussion on Network Security Key Mismatch? WEP Key within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I recently started having some issues with my Belkin SE567 wireless modem(?). It would randomly stop giving internet for


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2011, 07:28 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
OS: xp



Hello, I recently started having some issues with my Belkin SE567 wireless modem(?). It would randomly stop giving internet for a few seconds, so I decided to give it a restart but it kept doing it. In my stupidity, I decided to give it a hard restart to bring it back to the default settings and stuff just got worse.
None of the computers at home was able to connect to the internet, that was an easy fix, since the router renamed itself to Gigaset instead of the name we previously had on it.
So I decided to put all the settings back to the way we had it, including the name, and the WEP key, but for some reason whenever I connect any of the computers to the router, it shows this message:"Possible Network Security Key Mismatch" even though it's the right Passphrase or any of the BitKeys. The only way I can connect to the internet is by disabling all security on the modem or by using the cable directly. I've turned off the modem for about half an hour to see if that did anything but it didn't do any difference, and I'm currently not using any security.

Any help or advice as to why the Modem will not recognize the WEP key I used would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

PS: I might try WPA but my Nintendo DS doesn't recognize that method of security, but if I can figure out the WEP key mismatch thing I might use it later on.

__________________
Falconmauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 08:13 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hello Falconmauro,

You may always change the network security from your router, then apply/use the new network security key on all the computers.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:47 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xg View Post
Hello Falconmauro,

You may always change the network security from your router, then apply/use the new network security key on all the computers.
The thing is, it keeps telling me Network Security Key Mismatch, even though its the right Key
__________________
Falconmauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 09:53 PM   #4
a bit alien
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Babylon 5, Epsilon Eridani
Posts: 17,492
OS: win7pro/win10/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

delete the connection in your computer and create a new one
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2011, 11:19 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Pls remove the current wireless profiles then re-add it again. Make sure that you type in the correct network encryption.
Removing an existing wireless "profile"
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 12:28 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
OS: xp



Tried that, even changed the name of the router, still facing the same problem
__________________
Falconmauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 01:19 AM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Verify that all the network cables are plugged in correctly to the correct Ports.
From your Modem, the network cable need to be plugged in to the router's WAN or Internet Port. Your computer can be wired to the LAN Port of your router.

Pls. Power Cycle all your devices and try it again.

If it's still No Go, pls. apply WPA for now and see if your wireless computers will connect with the new security key. If it works, change it to WEP, test your connection again.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:24 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 18
OS: xp



I did a power cycle, and used WPA. The computers will connect through WPA, but still give me the same mismatch key error when using WEP. I'm going to stick with WPA untill I can figure out why WEP wont work still.
__________________
Falconmauro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2011, 06:48 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Thanks for the update. When you have spare time, update your router's firmware to the latest. Followed by reset to the factory default, do not attempt to restore the current configuration, start fresh.

Can't promise that it would work, but there's a possibility.

Note: I am aware that you've already done a hard reset, this will the second time after the firmware update-:)

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 09:01 AM
Aggravating Google Redirect Virus on Wife's Computer
my wife's laptop suddenly is getting the redirect on google searches. i know this is one of your common problems to fix. i had the same problem on my computer about a year ago and your help was the only way i got rid of it on my computer. this computer runs updated version of webroot securities....
scott1nc Inactive Malware Help Topics 36 04-20-2011 05:27 AM
bad image error and norton 360
Hi, My initial problem was trying to get rid of the "Bad Image" error message that has been popping up on literally every file and folder on my PC (Windows XP). Situation has gone from bad to worse as i installed norton 360 5.0. Now nothing works, unable to connect to the internet, unable to...
royalmc Resolved HJT Threads 25 04-07-2011 08:36 AM
After closing previous thread my problems continue
Hi there. After lots of great help from CatByte all the memory I had lost was returned and it looked like my problems were solved. However I've noticed that the memory I got back has been going down at the same rate as before (see link to thread below). It also takes a long time to shut down with...
Oberjeen Resolved HJT Threads 7 03-19-2011 04:48 PM
virus ends all programs, help please
Hello there, the other day whilst not really paying attention I allowed a fishy program to bypass my firewall, and it basically just shuts down any prgrm I open, and opens some fake virus software stuff. Anyways help please, I don't want to buy a new computer yet :grin:
redphase Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-25-2011 12:14 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:24 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts