Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

My internet won't work.

This is a discussion on My internet won't work. within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently just reformatted my computer but when i finished my internet was no longer connected. I have tried alot


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-03-2008, 01:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



I recently just reformatted my computer but when i finished my internet was no longer connected. I have tried alot of things but nothing seems to work...


Windows IP Configuration

Host name .............. ryan-rkatgy

Primary Dns suffix ............... :

Node Type................ : unknown

IP Routing Enabled ................... : No

WINS Proxy Enabled............... : No


Ethernet adapter Network Bridge:

Connection-specific DNS suffix............ :
Description........... : MAC Bridge Miniport
Physical Address......... : D2-0D-79-4D-78-58
Dhcp Enabled.................... : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled ............ : yes
Autoconfig IP Adress...................... : 169.254.71.42
Subnet MAsk................... : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway............................ :

__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2008, 05:35 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



Anyone?

__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:45 AM   #3
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 01:39 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



It says the following command was not found for both of them.
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 04:18 PM   #5
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Is this XP? There's something very wrong with the installation if it doesn't find netsh.

In looking again at your IPCONFIG, you have no network hardware that is recognized by Windows. Did you load the chipset and network drivers for the system?


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 05:48 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



There are no red X's next to anything but there are yellow ? next to all of the devices under other devices.
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 17
OS: Windows XP



What are the names of the 'Other Devices'?

could be the drivers for your ethernet need reinstalling
__________________
Bisque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 07:28 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



Thats what I thought but how do I reinstall my drivers without a cd or the internet on my computer?
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 01:07 PM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You use a floppy, a USB FLASH drive, or you'll have to actually take the disk out, connected is as a secondary on another machine, and copy the drivers to a folder on the disk.

Installations normally require some removable media support. Please tell me how you reformatted with no CD drive?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 06:55 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



I had the Vaio recovery wizard on my computer. The computer didn't come with any cd's for the drivers though.
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 10:52 AM   #11
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You can download the drivers from the Sony site. Surely this laptop has a USB port or an optical drive, right?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 06:38 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



yeah... how would i go about doing that haha.
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 07:20 AM   #13
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Go to www.sony.com and follow your nose until you find the support section. Search for your specific model of machine and find the downloads.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2008, 06:33 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
OS: Xp



BUt how would i get them on my computer if I don't have internet?
__________________
Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 05:34 PM   #15
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You're posting here, so you must have access to a computer with Internet access. Copy to a USB FLASH drive, burn them to a CD, etc.

You're not going to solve the issue without the drivers, so you've going to have to figure out how to get them to the machine.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2009, 10:29 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I am experiencing the same issue and i am unsure on what driver i should download. I am prepared to use a memory stick to transfer the driver but how can i determine what i need to download?

__________________
allysonmitten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts