Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Lost lease to IP address on network card

This is a discussion on Lost lease to IP address on network card within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-30-2011, 05:34 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ossett, Wakefield, UK
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3


Question

Hi all,
I have been using VM for about 6 years, very good. I have stared with an intermittent dropping of connection over last 3 days. ……dhcp error... Your computer has lost the lease to its IP address ***.***.***.* on the Network Card with network address…
So far;

1, checked VM status area 14 – all ok over last 3 days

2. Removed router to use modem only; re-started/booted both

3. Disabled scanner/firewall

4. Diagnosed with xp the network card/ok

5. ipconfig.exe /release & ipconfig.exe /renew
If I use the xp network diagnostics it re-connects, but when I try a website it’s back off again.

I am not sure if it is an issue on VM’s side?

Please can anyone advise. Regards & Thanks Sean

XP Event view examples;
(router not connected)

Event Type: Error
Event Source: Dhcp
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1000
Date: 30/08/2011
Time: 12:54:19
User: N/A
Computer: SEAN
Description:
Your computer has lost the lease to its IP address 192.168.100.10 on the Network Card with network address 000CF1BCB8AE.

Event Type: Warning
Event Source: Dhcp
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1003
Date: 30/08/2011
Time: 12:54:19
User: N/A
Computer: SEAN
Description:
Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 000CF1BCB8AE. The following error occurred:
The semaphore timeout period has expired. . Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.

Event Type: Information
Event Source: Tcpip
Event Category: None
Event ID: 4201
Date: 30/08/2011
Time: 12:54:14
User: N/A
Computer: SEAN
Description:
The system detected that network adapter \DEVICE\TCPIP_{E3E5839E-B8C3-4CAA-AAE9-17AC072B9466} was connected to the network, and has initiated normal operation over the network adapter.

Event Type: Warning
Event Source: Dhcp
Event Category: None
Event ID: 1003
Date: 30/08/2011
Time: 12:54:10
User: N/A
Computer: SEAN
Description:
Your computer was not able to renew its address from the network (from the DHCP Server) for the Network Card with network address 000CF1BCB8AE. The following error occurred:
The operation was canceled by the user. . Your computer will continue to try and obtain an address on its own from the network address (DHCP) server.

Event Type: Information
Event Source: Tcpip
Event Category: None
Event ID: 4202
Date: 30/08/2011
Time: 12:54:09
User: N/A
Computer: SEAN
Description:
The system detected that network adapter \DEVICE\TCPIP_{E3E5839E-B8C3-4CAA-AAE9-17AC072B9466} was disconnected from the network, and the adapter's network configuration has been released. If the network adapter was not disconnected, this may indicate that it has malfunctioned. Please contact your vendor for updated drivers.


CMD info

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Sean >ipconfig/all without router connected

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.
C:\Documents and Settings\Sean Skilton>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sean
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : cable.virginmedia.net
Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : cable.virginmedia.net
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-BC-B8-AE
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 92.232.204.218
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 92.232.204.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 62.30.240.178
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.4.100
194.168.8.100
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 30 August 2011 12:14:24
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 06 September 2011 11:02:05

C:\Documents and Settings\Sean >ipconfig/all with router connected

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sean
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Belkin

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F1-BC-B8-AE
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.2
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 29 August 2011 21:10:13
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 19 January 2038 04:14:07

__________________
thunderbird1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:09 AM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,773
OS: Vista/Win7



do you have the same unable to renew ip when connected to the modem?

any other other connected devices to the router have the same issue?

Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 10:56 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ossett, Wakefield, UK
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3



Hi,

I have v.limited access at moment.Yes, same problems with modem connected only (router removed). There are no other PC's affected.

Rang VM late t.day checked connection remotely, tests show poss issue with modem. VM are sending a new one 3-5 days. Current modem is a scientific atlanta 2100, been using about 5 years.

I will keep you posted, Thanks for the reply & help.

Regards Sean
__________________
thunderbird1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 01:24 PM   #4
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,773
OS: Vista/Win7



modem would not generate a dhcp error when the vm is connected to the router which is where we started [router to vm].

if its not the router it would be the nic that needs to be replaced.
Wand3r3r is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 02:49 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ossett, Wakefield, UK
Posts: 3
OS: XP SP3


Thumbs Up

Hi all,

VM sent a new modem & this has fixed the connection problems.

Thanks for all your help & advice. Regards Sean

__________________
thunderbird1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Wireless Card Detected, But No Internet in 2nd PCI Slot
Hello there, Hope this is the right forum. I have an interesting problem, though quite frustrating. I've found that my wireless card does not access internet in the "2nd" pci slot. After much perusing of forum threads, I've tried many things before posting and will list all my attempts...
SaigoChan Cabling and Network Cards 6 09-05-2012 04:19 PM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-22-2011 11:42 PM
can I change mac address ?
hey I want to ask you about change mac address is that possible ? Actually, I know I can't but I have seen some steps to explain how to change mac address I know that impossible but can you tell me what those steps do? this what I see
dew1 Networking Support 15 06-17-2011 11:38 AM
Limited Connectivity Problem (after few time of successfull network establishment)
Dear All, Hope u all will be f9. Now a days i m in hell of trouble i think due to my OS problem. I m using Window Vista 32-bit SP2 Home Premium. I am using Dell Studio 1537. I am facing this problem recently and i dont know what is the cause behind it. The problem is...
ushahzad Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 01-28-2011 09:31 AM
[SOLVED] Internet (Browsing) only works in safe mode
Hi all, Yesterday I picked up a laptop of a friend of mine which had some problems with the Internet connectivity. Turns out, Internet only works when booted in Safe Mode, however, it does ping in Normal Mode so there is connectivity. Tried IE and Firefox, both do not work in Normal Mode and do...
swriezebos Networking Support 2 01-25-2011 07:49 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts