Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Laptop won't connect to internet using wireless

This is a discussion on Laptop won't connect to internet using wireless within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My laptop- Dell, Windows XP sp2, connects wireless to the Netgear, but not to internet, using DSL It does connect


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2011, 09:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2


Question

My laptop- Dell, Windows XP sp2, connects wireless to the Netgear, but not to internet, using DSL
It does connect using ethernet, and other pc in house connects to the internet wireless.
It stalls aquiring IP Address, it had been working fine up until a week ago. It froze up, and has not been able to connect since.
It also works with a friends wireless.

__________________
blgssac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:40 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,392
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
It also works with a friends wireless.
what do you mean exactly - your PC works on another wireless all OK just not your own, or a friend can use your wireless router and connect to internet

make sure the wireless is switched on - on the laptop - often have physical switches or combination of FN andf one of the F keys
I think dell uses F keys

lets see an ipconfig /all and xirrus screen shot


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

Xirrus: High Performance Wireless Networks - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Direct link to the program is here Xirrus: High Performance Wireless Networks - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here TSG Posting a Screenshot - TSG Library of Knowledge

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99
------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:56 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2



1.) to clarify,
1.a) the non-working PC works with ethernet and the neighbor's wireless (elsewhere)
1.b) a second PC in the house works with the wireless (notebook)
1.c) It shows connected to the wireless - but cannot connect to the internet - stalls locating IP address.

2. ipconfig /all
BEFORE CONNECTING TO THE WIRELESS (DISCONNECTED ETHERNET)
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-22-69-9E

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless WLAN 1350 WLAN Mini-PCI Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-96-F9-9A-98

AFTER CONNECTING TO THE WIRELESS
Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-22-69-9E

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless WLAN 1350 WLAN Mini-PCI Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-90-96-F9-9A-98
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

Thanks for taking the time to help.
__________________
blgssac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2011, 05:16 AM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,392
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



is your wireless security enabled - if so - remove the security and retry to connect

lets try a tcp /ip reset


------------------------------------------------------------------------

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.

Post back the results here
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 08:10 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
OS: windows xp sp2



Hi,

I ran the 2 steps and re-booted the pc, results were the same.
Just for fun I ran them again - and again the results were the same.

Not sure what you are requesting that I copy and paste, but here is the new results for ipconfig /all


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : laptop
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0F-1F-22-69-9E


------

Again I thank you for your time and any help you can offer,
__________________
blgssac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 11:50 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Home
Posts: 35
OS: Windows 7 SP1



Type " ipconfig /all" from your notebooks "(1.b) a second PC in the house works with the wireless (notebook)" CMD. Post the results please.
__________________
heliuminside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 02:29 AM   #7
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,392
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



do you have a switch on the pc to disable the wireless - if not a physical switch then a combination of keys
often FN + F2 keys

lets see the xirrus screen shot



------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

Xirrus: High Performance Wireless Networks - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Direct link to the program is here Xirrus: High Performance Wireless Networks - Advanced IT Wi-Fi Networking Tools
Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
Full details are here TSG Posting a Screenshot - TSG Library of Knowledge

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 07:10 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 21
OS: Vista basic



I have a Dell Vostro 1500, Vista basic OS . WRT160N router and my ISP is DSL Verizon. I also have a HP desktop connected by a wire. My Dell Vostro 1500 laptop connectivity is excellent in the beginning but, later after couple of minutes to an hour I would not be able to open any sites with google chrome. I would just see a message on the lower left “Waiting for www.google.com...” and a slow spinning circle next to a tab with a blank page. When I check the network status, I would still see the sent and received activity, sometimes the speed on the wireless network connection status drops from 54Mbps to 48Mbps. The IPv4 Connectivity states “Internet” while IPv6 Connectivity states “Limited”. If I re-boot the Dell vostro 1500, I would get the internet back then, it would stop again. I don't know if my wireless card is the problem or if some software was the problem causing the trouble accessing the internet after certain amount of usage. I tried following instructions from some site about adding DhcpConnDisableBcastFlagToggle with a value set as #1 in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters\Interfaces\{GUID} but, this still failed. I even tried updating my wireless card driver to version 4.170.77.3 (3/21/2008) and still no avail. When I lose the wireless connection, I tried connecting an ethernet wire from the router to the Dell Vostro 1500 and there would still be no internet access. The HP desktop can still access the internet with no problem but, I would have to keep re-booting Dell Vostro 1500 to access the internet temporary. Should I just purchase a Intel® PRO/Wireless 3945 802.11a/g Wi-Fi Mini Card or whichever fastest wireless card compatible with Dell Vostro 1500? or is the Router WRT160N the problem? Below will be a history of my CMD

Windows IP Configuration

Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Link-local IPv6 Address .........:fe80::250f0:5bb6:2cae:cbb4x9
IPv4 Address.....................:192.168.1.100
Subnet Mask......................:255.255.255.0
Default Gateway..................:192.168.1.1

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State......................: Media dsiconnected
Conneciton-specific DNS Suffix...:

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*7:
Media State......................: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix...:

Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection*9...:
Media State......................: Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix...:
__________________
Sno0p is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 08:05 AM   #9
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,392
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



when connected by LAN cable - lets see an ipconfig /all and ping tests when its working and then also th esame test when it disconnects using the cable
we can ignore wireless for the moment - see if we can get it working on a cable connection first


------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

Type the following command
Ping {plus the number thats shown against the default gateway shown in above ipconfig /all}
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
post back results
rightclick in the box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
Quote:
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router the next two
Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet , one by name and one by number which checks that the dns is working

------------------------------------------------------------------------

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Laptop can't connect to internet, neither wired or wireless
hey guys. i need some help. so, my laptop, as well as my moms laptop, were working perfectly fine on wedensday. Yesterday however, i was randomly getting kicked off the internet, and i came to realize that whenever both of our laptops were on, only one could connect to the internet. the other one...
melancollie Networking Support 3 06-04-2011 09:10 AM
pix firewall 515E internet problem
Hello this is my pix firewall 515E configuration. Password: Type help or '?' for a list of available commands. pixfirewall> en Password: pixfirewall# show runn : Saved :
uzairsiddiqui Security and Firewalls 0 04-27-2011 05:16 AM
[SOLVED] Error Code: C00D1197 OR 0xC00D1197
Hello ....don't know if this is right forum I listen to a online football station for my home team. Just recently it has stopped working in IE 8 32 bit. I can log in but can't play any content in the windows media player it uses. However it will work in IE 64 bit and Firefox browsers...I...
REMA1 Internet Explorer Forum 11 03-20-2011 09:43 PM
Viruses/Malware...google redirect/ad background/etc
Got a few problems on my hands and hope it is not beyond repairable, reformat. I have the google redirect that is happening, also have a talking ad background that I do not know where it comes from. All browsers are closed and it still comes up. Also, I get a bubble pop sound all the time,...
uofmx12 Inactive Malware Help Topics 8 02-10-2011 10:24 PM
Acer laptop wont connect to wireless!?
hello there! jesus this is a pain in the :1angel: ACER aspire 7520 windows vista 32bit LAPTOp copyright 2007 This damn thing will not connect wirelessly to my DLINK router (which works great for my desktop and xboxlive) .... the laptop used to connect, and work great, but recently has...
paulwhat Networking Support 5 02-07-2011 06:42 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:43 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts