Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Is the Technicolor TG 582n VPN enabled?

This is a discussion on Is the Technicolor TG 582n VPN enabled? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Have a brand new TG582n modem from Telmex Mexico. A VPN provider says I need a VPN enabled ROUTER to

Old 08-07-2012, 11:57 AM   #1
Registered Member

Have a brand new TG582n modem from Telmex Mexico.
A VPN provider says I need a VPN enabled ROUTER to connect to their VPN.

Will the modem I have do the job or do I REALLY need a wireless router as well?
If YES, how do I set up the TG 582n?

If NO and I buy the ROUTER won't their be a conflict with the Modem AND the Router emitting a wireless signal?

p.s. I'm a real newbie to Networking, sorry!
Many thanks

Old 08-08-2012, 11:12 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech

HI! Welcome to TSF!

There are various opinions out on the internet if its supported out of the box, best thing I can suggest is load your VPN client and try it! Most routers do enable IPSEC or PPTP (VPN protocols) to passthru by default.

If it does not... there appears to be some configuration options, not certain if via the WEB GUI interface or not, can't find a user manual with screen shots to tell me. Generally these types of settings either have their own section (VPN setup or such) or are in with the firewall settings. (radio buttons to ENABLE IPSEC Passthru or something like that). If the web does not have these there are lower level commands the router will respond to to allow VPN. So at present I would paint my comfort level of getting this to work for you around 75%.

Wireless is not related at all, and regardless if on or off, it will have no effect on VPN capabilities.

Not sure what you mean "buy the router", the TG582n is a router and modem in one unit. Putting another one under it will not fix VPN, you would have to replace the TG582n if we can not get it to work.