Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

I dial AOL an error pops up saying The Computer's modem is being blocked from connect

This is a discussion on I dial AOL an error pops up saying The Computer's modem is being blocked from connect within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I dial AOL an error pops up saying The Computer's modem is being blocked from connecting (Error: 77-RFJT) Any suggations??


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-13-2006, 11:37 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Khalidirfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Computers
Posts: 51
OS: WinXp



I dial AOL an error pops up saying The Computer's modem is being blocked from connecting (Error: 77-RFJT)
Any suggations??

__________________
Khalidirfan is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 12:55 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Several things this couldd be.
Do you have SP2?
Do you have a firewall program?
what version of the AOL software are you using?

__________________
Terrister is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Khalidirfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Computers
Posts: 51
OS: WinXp


Do you have SP2?.....yes
Do you have a firewall program?.....Norton
what version of the AOL software are you using?....9.0
__________________
Khalidirfan is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:22 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,455
OS: 98SE/XP PRO/FC4

My System

It sounds like Norton may be blocking the AOL, thinking it could be a spyware dialer. Try going into Norton firewall settings and see if you can list AOL as a 'trusted' or 'safe' program.
Ralck is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 01:45 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Khalidirfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Computers
Posts: 51
OS: WinXp


I disabled Norton but it is still giving me the same issue
__________________
Khalidirfan is offline  
Old 07-13-2006, 02:18 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,455
OS: 98SE/XP PRO/FC4

My System

Do you have the Service Pack 2 Windows firewall running also? It may be blocking it at that firewall.
Ralck is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 10:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1
OS: win xp pro



I just came across a customers pc with this error and the same symtoms as described by others ...... i.e. after signing on ... if you sign off you have to reboot to sign back in ....... first of all it's not a problem with norton , symantec , svc pk 2 , or a firewall issue .... if it was you would never have been able to sign on initially .......... after troubleshooting the customers pc and for sakes sake disabling the firewall and norton / symantec latest version , i substituted her modem with one identical pulled from a used pc tower prior to disposal .... it resulted in the same problem and error message .... however since it was a used and similarly aged modem i could not definitely conclude that the problem didn't reside in the modems ..... so i next installed a brand new modem ...... and the problem was resolved ..... apparently her modem and the similar used modem was beginning to fail in some aspect .... the new replacement modem used is .... AOPEN FM56-SVV and is available at www.newegg.com ........ submitted by
__________________
KE Custom PC is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 11:18 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP SP2



Before you go out and buy a new modem, try checking your COM port. That was my problem.

I had this problem just yesterday after installing a new modem. I too have the horrible inconvenience of being stuck with dial-up, and my parents pay for AOL (note : I live with my parents, but I'm 20 years old with a fair amount of computer knowledge only staying here while I'm in college...not some young kid who doesn't know what he's talking about...just wanted to make that clear )

ON TO THE PROBLEM

**Instructions based on WINDOWS XP SP2**

What you need to do is 1. Uninstall/Reinstall the Modem Driver 2. Delete Your Dial-up Location(s) 3. Create New Dial-up Locations

Step-by-Step
1. Uninstall/Reinstall the Modem Driver
a. From device manager, expand "Modems".
b. Right click on your modem (mine is a Motorola SM56 Speakerphone Modem---for those that are wondering) and click Properties.
c. Open the Driver tab.
d. Click uninstall. follow prompts.
e. Reinstall the driver via disc/internet download/etc...
f. From your modem's Properties, select the Advanced tab.
g. Click Advanced Port Settings.
h. In the bottom left, select a port that is not in use (a port is set by default upon installation, but I prefer to select the lowest number that is not in use...mine is at COM2) and remember that COM port.

2. Delete Your Dial-up Locations
a. Go to start > All Programs > America Online > AOL System Information.
b. Open the Connectivity tab.
c. Click Reset Locations. Follow Prompts.

3. Create New Dial-up Locations
a. From the Connectivity tab of AOL System Information, click Create New Dial-up Locations.
b. Click Advanced Settings in the bottom left, and select the Modems tab.
c. Click Find Modem to automatically detect your modem. If it doesn't detect your modem, click Add to select your modem manually. Make sure you set the COM port to the one designated for your modem.
d. Click OK. Click Close.
e. To the left, Click Add under Dial-up Locations.
f. Follow the prompts and insert your information.

That should take care of it. Connect as you normally would and enjoy.

If this helps anyone, please email me at PearlDrummerALK3@aol.com and let me know.
__________________
PearlDrummer is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 12:35 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Terrister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: West Georgia, USA
Posts: 7,132
OS: Windows 7 & 8, Mac OS-x


Thanks for sharing this with us.

__________________
Terrister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts