Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

How to check cable modem to see if it is bad?

This is a discussion on How to check cable modem to see if it is bad? within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My internet connection has been constantly droppind and then connecting. All thelights on my modem are lit solid. The modem


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-27-2009, 12:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vistan Home Premium



My internet connection has been constantly droppind and then connecting.
All thelights on my modem are lit solid. The modem is a Motorola SB 4100. I know this is an outdated modem. How would I be able to check to see if the modem is bad? I have tried multiple times to reset it and no luck. I just wait and the computer connection comes back,but it drops again.I do not even remember when the last time was that I have had a solid internet connection

__________________
jmy2469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 01:36 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Windows XP SP2



everytime you lose connection is there any lights flashing?

possible ISP problem

modem will be defective if power light turns red, all lights went off or constantly rebooting, too hot/warm. some modems need firmware upgrade as well.

It might not be the modem, sometimes cables or wiring problem, outside prob like phone box or NIC gone bad.

try calling your provider and have them check your line. ^^

__________________
Near is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 02:05 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vistan Home Premium



It is weird, sometimes the lights do flash when the connection drops.
The past 2 times,everything was lit solid,like the connection was fine
__________________
jmy2469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:02 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19
OS: Windows XP SP2



can you tell me the name of the lights that flashed?
__________________
Near is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2009, 03:40 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vistan Home Premium



The receive,send and online lights would flash
__________________
jmy2469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:41 AM   #6
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Register at DSLReports and run their Line Quality Tests. It's best to run this test with a direct wired connection to eliminate any wireless issues from the results. It's useful many times to run this test several times, and we'd like to see each of the results. Post the results link from the top of the test display page for each test run here.

The link to post is near the top of the page and looks like:

If you wish to post this result to a forum, please copy/paste this URL
http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2357195 <- sample only, yours will obviously be different!
and your IP will be disguised.

Copy/paste that link here.

Note: You will have to enable PING (ICMP) request response either in your router (if you have one), or in your computer's firewall for direct modem connections. This is very important to get the most important part of the test to run.


DSLReports

Here's also the Line Quality Tests FAQ to help you understand the results. This will answer some questions about the line quality display.
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 07:53 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vistan Home Premium



Ok, thanks for the info. I am at work right now. When I get home,and if I have an internet connection, I will post the results
__________________
jmy2469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2009, 03:36 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 10
OS: Vistan Home Premium



1st test- http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2525587
2nd test-http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2525598
3rd test-http://www.dslreports.com/linequality/nil/2525602
__________________
jmy2469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 06:20 AM   #9
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Looks OK to me. If it drops out occasionally, it could be either the modem or the ISP.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts