Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

DSL 2780 works but can't connect to internet

This is a discussion on DSL 2780 works but can't connect to internet within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I've just got my first ever router from talktalk, DSL 2780 which works fine but I still can't connect to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-20-2011, 02:33 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows xp



I've just got my first ever router from talktalk, DSL 2780 which works fine but I still can't connect to the internet. I called the helpline and they checked my broadband connection is working fine and all the cables are correctly connected. Then she got me to open Internet Explorer and type in 192.168.1.1 but it brought up a page saying that it couldn't be displayed and there was no internet connection, so she told me to make sure the Work Offline option wasn't ticked and did something else in Tools Internet Options and then typed those numbers again but it still didn't work. She said something about configuring it but wasn't much help and after being passed around for 2 hours I'm still no further along.
At the moment I'm using my computer at work to get some proper help from someone who knows what to do. I really am stuck and would greatly appreciate help with this.

__________________
MiniPeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 12:05 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Have you seen this guide from Talk to Talk on how to setup their DSL device?
Wired connection setup for D-Link DSL-2780

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 01:59 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2
OS: windows xp



I did that first but it didn't work and that's when I called their technical support line. I had another go with it all last night and discovered that where the ethernet connection is displayed on device manager there's a little yellow warning symbol which says my driver isn't installed. I'm guessing this is something requiring a disc? Can't find the disc which came with my computer many moons ago!
__________________
MiniPeeps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2011, 07:31 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,892
OS: Windows O/S'es



You may download the driver from your computer's manufacturer site or the network adapter site manufacturer. No need to have the CD.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to connect two laptops to the Internet via one wireless access point?
At home I have a wireless access point that I use to connect my laptop #1 to the Internet. On laptop #1 IP address is set to 193.49.21.65. This IP address also Subnet Mask and other addresses are given by my Internet Service Provider. Everything works just fine but lately I bought another laptop...
tumbler360 Networking Support 1 07-04-2011 11:44 AM
Laptop can't connect to internet, neither wired or wireless
hey guys. i need some help. so, my laptop, as well as my moms laptop, were working perfectly fine on wedensday. Yesterday however, i was randomly getting kicked off the internet, and i came to realize that whenever both of our laptops were on, only one could connect to the internet. the other one...
melancollie Networking Support 3 06-04-2011 09:10 AM
[SOLVED] cant connect to the internet. plz help
I recently lost connection to the internet. my os is win7. i cant connect wired or wirelessly. when i try to connect wirelessly, troubleshooting says that the dns servers arent responding ( the dns servers are wrong or dont exist) and when i try to connect with a wired connection troubleshooting...
xw9128 Networking Support 11 06-02-2011 08:29 PM
Possible Virus/Trojan?
I'm having issues with ZoneAlarm not being able to activate anti-virus/anti-spyware. I've updated the a.v. database as well as the app itself to the latest versions but still cannot get av/as to activate. It remains disabled and the option to turn it on is grayed out. I'm also unable to get...
Dan V. Resolved HJT Threads 35 03-28-2011 08:29 AM
[SOLVED] Error Code: C00D1197 OR 0xC00D1197
Hello ....don't know if this is right forum I listen to a online football station for my home team. Just recently it has stopped working in IE 8 32 bit. I can log in but can't play any content in the windows media player it uses. However it will work in IE 64 bit and Firefox browsers...I...
REMA1 Internet Explorer Forum 11 03-20-2011 09:43 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:57 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts