Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

dlink wireless router suddenly stopped working

This is a discussion on dlink wireless router suddenly stopped working within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, My dlink dir 628 wireless router suddenly stopped working yesterday. If I plug the ethernet cable directly into my


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-29-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista



Hi,

My dlink dir 628 wireless router suddenly stopped working yesterday. If I plug the ethernet cable directly into my computer and the internet works. I see the wireless profile in the options for the wireless internet, but when I try to connect, it is unable to do so.

I've tried resetting the router (using the button on the device) witand reinstalling the router (using the CD), but still not working. Also have tried turning off the modem, router, and restarting my computer.

Any advice? Thanks.

__________________
technaive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2011, 09:47 PM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Are all the wireless devices in your home network unable to connect?

Please see this Tutorial on how to setup your D-Link router without using the CD, which is really unnecessary.

Please post an update.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:42 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
OS: vista



I tried that again. Still not working. My laptop and iphone and my brother's laptop can detect the network (we all see bars or excellent connectivity), but none of us can connect. Even after I've reset the router using the steps you suggested.

Any other advice?
__________________
technaive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 11:53 AM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,026
OS: Windows O/S'es



Let's verify if you have all the network cables and connections plugged in to the proper Ports. From the Modem, the network cable need to be plugged in to the Router's WAN or Internet Port. Your computer needs to be wired to the LAN Port of your router.
Choose a diff LAN Port to see if there's an issue with the Port that you're using.

Power Cycle your devices if above is confirmed. The step-by-step guide shd help you.

If above suggestions didn't help at all, perhaps it needs Mac cloning, depending on your ISP. Who is your Provider?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 05:36 PM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Delete your saved wireless profile on your computer. Log into the router go to Wireless Settings then do a manual wireless setup. Disable WPS and set Security Mode to none. Save your settings and try again.

__________________

Fred Garvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU suddenly stopped working
9400Q My computer was working perfectly fine. I played games smoothly (the pc was as it always have been) etc. Then I went to the kitchen to drink some water and when I was back there was no image on the screen and the sound of the computer was changed. I opened it up and saw that CPU...
DestroManiak Motherboards, Bios & CPU 5 07-24-2011 07:56 AM
Wireless Network Suddenly Stopped
I was reading manga until 2 A.M. on Saturday, and then my internet connection stopped. It was working fine until then, I did not move the wireless router anywhere.. I was just sitting on my chair and reading. It's been about 4 days. I have a: Linksys Wireless -B USB Network Adapter ( 2.4...
Maruchan Windows XP Support 10 07-20-2011 03:37 PM
HP Wireless Assistant not working
I'm using the Compaq Presario CQ60 228US For about a week now, I've been having the issue with my wireless button staying amber and not working. When I press it, it says amber, and gives me the message "WLAN: off" and if I press it again, I get the message "WLAN: disabled". If I go to...
kingjd Laptop Support 1 07-17-2011 08:40 AM
DLink DSLG604T + Netgear DGND3300v2 As switch + Wireless AP
Hi Everybody. Ive currently got a network set up via a DLink DSLG604T router. All PC's in the house are wired. All laptops / consoles are wireless. On the side of the house with the router, everything runs fine. On the other side (my side) the wireless is terrible if we can even connect at all....
snayler0 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 7 06-15-2011 12:54 PM
[SOLVED] Wireless router no longer working after 2 years
So I've been enjoying my wireless internet for around two years maybe longer when suddenly, out of no where I get no signal. I went for 1 month without internet then I tried losing the Linux router and connecting directly via cable modem and it works fine. I've tried several brand new...
Riku3008 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 20 06-07-2011 10:42 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts