Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

dlink dir 615 won't connect

This is a discussion on dlink dir 615 won't connect within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi. lemme just say i am desperate here. i ahve a dlink dir 615 B2 router and it wont connect


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2012, 08:59 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



hi. lemme just say i am desperate here. i ahve a dlink dir 615 B2 router and it wont connect to the internet. on day it was fine and working, the next day the internet led wouldn't change from the red light to the green light.

i have tried resetting it about 60 times, while the laptop was on/off, while it was plugged it, while it was without power, while the internet cable was in, while it wasn't, while it was shut down and i reset it and the i pluged it in while resetting it...i dont know what else to do!! short of smashing the bejesus out of it. anyhoo, can anyone help me? the internet works fine when i connect the cable directly to the laptop, btw. oh and i don;t have a cable modem or anything, just a plain old cable from the street to my house.(im not a us citizen in case you think that's weird)

here are my ip's and stuff(i'm not a computer whiz, not that much anyway)
Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>ipconfig/all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : AdinaO
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-4D-4E-21-80
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.199
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, May 16, 2012 6:00:58 PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, May 17, 2012 6:00:58 PM

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Eth
ernet Controller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-21-9B-DD-DE-A2

PPP adapter RCS-RDS:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 172.17.190.8
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 172.17.190.8
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 193.231.236.30
193.231.236.25
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.11.12.13
Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 10.11.12.14
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

oh yes and when i go to 192.168.0.1 to check the status it says WAN 0 packets received, but 12 transmitted and DHCP client disconnected

__________________
adinaolaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:03 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



sorry, it says connection: estaliching(please wait...)

__________________
adinaolaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
OS: XP



establishing
__________________
adinaolaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 12:06 PM   #4
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,950
OS: Windows O/S'es



Welcome to TSF,

Do you have any other wireless devices - computer or smart phone that you can connect and test it out?
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Win7 HP Laptop wont connect to Belkin FSD8235 - 4
Hi All For some reason my laptop has stopped connecting to my wireless network. It shows up as available with Excellent signal. I know the password is correct and that hasnt changed but now when i right click and connect it INSTANTLY says "Windows cannot connect to Area51" before it even seems...
toms88 Networking Support 24 05-15-2011 08:47 AM
Unable to connect to wireless. Help!!!
Hi, I have an HP Pavilion running Vista. My router is Dlink. My computer has been working great for a couple of years with this system. Other computers in the house are able to connect - it is not the dlink or wifi connection. I took my HP over to a friend's house the other day. He made it so...
klkenaston Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 04-19-2011 11:26 AM
can connect dir 615 with adsl modem
hi guys, recently i got a dlink dir 615 router from a friend. i'm using adsl modem now. i want to connect the modem to the router so that i have a wireless at home for my laptop and iphone. i have follow the step in the router manual but it did not work. i just cannot conect to the router page...
agni115 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 15 02-08-2011 10:36 AM
Why won't my laptop connect to my network/Internet?
My computer won't connect to my network. I goto my list of wireless networks, chose my home network and press connect. Then a prompt comes up and says " Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and...
BBradshaw Networking Support 3 01-29-2011 02:43 PM
Why won't my laptop connect to my network/internet
My computer won't connect to my network. I goto my list of wireless networks, chose my home network and press connect. Then a prompt comes up and says " Windows is unable to connect to the selected network. The network may no longer be in range. Please refresh the list of available networks, and...
BBradshaw Laptop Support 1 01-29-2011 02:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts