Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Connect to network at Bootup

This is a discussion on Connect to network at Bootup within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have the Intel(R) PROSet/Wireless and until recently it always connected automatically at bootup. However, recently it no longer automatically


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2011, 03:57 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP


Question

I have the Intel(R) PROSet/Wireless and until recently it always connected automatically at bootup. However, recently it no longer automatically boots up. I can still connect manually, but would like it to be automatic again.

How can I fix this?

Thank you for assistance.

__________________
Cher1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:33 AM   #2
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 15,515
OS: Vista/Win7



I would suggest a system restore to a point before this began.

Wand3r3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 05:37 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Wand3r3r View Post
I would suggest a system restore to a point before this began.
__________________
Cher1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2011, 05:38 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Thanks for replying Wand3r3r, however this was something that I already had tried; but it didn't work.
__________________
Cher1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
OS: WinXP-SP3



Two potential fixes: (I am assuming that you click an icon to start a wireless utility of some sort to connect "manually" as you stated. If this is not correct, ignore my suggestions.)

1. Enter the wireless utility's Options, Settings, or Preferences menus and see if there is a checkbox or option button to "Start with Windows" or something similar. Whatever the wording in the menu, you want this utility to start every time Windows boots.

2. Right click on the icon you use to start the utility that makes it work. Select "copy". Then click the "Start" menu, select "All Programs", then right click the "Startup" folder, selecting "Open". In the folder that opens up, right click and select "Paste". The utility icon should now appear in the folder.

After either solution, reboot and see.

__________________
irdaneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts