Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite


Cisco Router 1941W : WAN keeps disconnecting randomly

This is a discussion on Cisco Router 1941W : WAN keeps disconnecting randomly within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi all, We are using Cisco router (1941W model) and our the WAN interface keeps going down randomly (sometimes happened


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-23-2012, 06:39 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
OS:



Hi all,
We are using Cisco router (1941W model) and our the WAN interface keeps going down randomly (sometimes happened twice within 1 hour, sometimes worked fine for 2-3 days before getting disconnected).
After getting disconnected, if we unplug the cable that connects our router to the fiber terminal and then plug in back, everything works fine immediately.

We had asked our Internet Provider to come 3 times to check the network line, renew the fiber terminal and do some investigations, they said there should be no issue on their side. If it's true then there must be something wrong with the router.

We also enabled ip accounting on the router and saw very low rate of small packets coming to WAN interface.

During the downtime, LAN interface still worked fine.

Do you have any idea why it happened and how to solve this annoying issue ?
HuyPhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-24-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Team Manager - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey & West Sussex
Posts: 8,265
OS: W7 & W10



Is this the only PC that disconnects - do other devices connected work OK - if so how are they connected to the router - wireless or wired

would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

if you are connected by wireless, please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

Please post back here the make and exact model of the modem.

Please make a note of the status of the lights on the modem and on the router when working normally - post that light status here.
Now when the internet disconnects make a note of the status of the lights for the modem and router here again. also note which have changed.

What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, Mcafee , AVG , Webroot etc

------------------------------------------------------------------------
ipconfig /all
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
to do that:
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
all the text will now be highlighted
Next
From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ping Tests
If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box
(A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

Type the following command
Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping google.com
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste

Type the following command
Ping 209.183.226.152
Post back the results in a reply here
right click in the command prompt box
select all
enter
control key + C key - to copy
then reply here and
control key + V to paste
Quote:
For your information only
these tests will check various stages of the connection, the first ping test, ping default gateway checks to see if you still have a connection to the router.
The next two Ping google.com & Ping 209.183.226.152 tests the connection to internet. google is to test by name and the ping test using a number is checking that a connection exists without DNS.
these tests then confirm if there is a dns issue on the connection.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

Wi-Fi Inspector | Xirrus
Direct link to the program is here Wi-Fi Inspector Confirmation

{If the above link does not work heres another link Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector | PCWorld}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus...-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99 or
if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
AP Grapher - Mac OS X AirPort Stumbler and Wireless Graphing Software which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1 cisco router accessing internet through another cisco router
Hi all, I have a cisco 2811 router doing nat on my home network and it works fine. I've connected a cisco 2621 router to the 2811 both have serial T1 cards, I have enabled IP routing on both and have eigrp 1 process running. I can ping and telnet to each router and they are advertising the...
hprompt Networking Support 4 04-28-2012 04:19 PM
[SOLVED] Router Zyxel with cable modem Cisco
Hallo, I have this configuration: 1. Cable Internet connection (60Mb/s - down. / 6 Mb/s - upload) 2. Cable modem Cisco3208 with VOIP (http://www.cisco.com/web/consumer/suppo ... C3208.html) 3. WIFI router ZyXel NBG4615 (ZyXEL Communications Corporation ... FA7F1DA500) 4. netbook Lenovo...
RandomX12 Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 0 04-13-2012 12:36 AM
How to configure cisco router 1800 to a IP VPN
Hi guys.... My boss want me to configure a cisco router 1800 series to an IP VPN, but I don't know how to configure a router with an IP VPN... can anyone help me for doing this one?.... can u provide a step by step guide for me?.... any help will be highly appreciated ^_^ tnx guys. + GOD bless...
TechReader Networking Support 2 02-27-2012 12:40 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:27 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com