Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Cisco Linksys Wireless router loses connection

This is a discussion on Cisco Linksys Wireless router loses connection within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When ever my roommates and I turn on or turn off a computer or device to log onto our wireless


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2012, 03:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7


Mistake

When ever my roommates and I turn on or turn off a computer or device to log onto our wireless network that computer or device and all other computers or devices that are on the network lose internet connection for about 3 minutes. After that period then all devices gain access back. We have a Cisco Linksys router, Model number WRT110, it is the Range Plus version. I got it 6 months ago from a friend that had never pulled it out of the box or used it. I used it before moving and it did not have this problem. We are using cable for our internet and have a Motorola Surfboard model number SB5101U for our Modem. We have 2 Dell computers, both about a year old, and a LG blue ray device that connects wirelessly to stream movies.

Thank you for any help

__________________
apartment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 07:47 AM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,587
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



Quote:
When ever my roommates and I turn on or turn off a computer or device to log onto our wireless network that computer or device and all other computers or devices that are on the network lose internet connection for about 3 minutes.
so this only applies to the three devices (and includes any of the three devices) and they are all connected to the wireless - you have nothing connected tothe LAN (cable) side of the router - correct
Quote:
We have 2 Dell computers, both about a year old, and a LG blue ray device that connects wirelessly to stream movies.
if you connect one PC to the router by cable - what happens then

__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 08:19 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7



We have three computers, two phones, and a lg blue ray player connected. We have the blue ray plugged in to the router. When we plug in a device it doesn't bother the wireless connected devices. I got the latest firmware last night and it doesn't seem to have made a difference, only possibly made it take longer to get the internet back. When plugged in with the cable that device isn't knocked offline when a new device connects to the wireless.
__________________
apartment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 10:07 AM   #4
Moderator - Networking
 
etaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK, Surrey
Posts: 5,587
OS: XP-SP3, Vista-SP2



so all wirless devices knock off all other wireless devices

lets see an xirrus screen shot


------------------------------------------------------------------------
Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
Download and install

If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

Wi-Fi Inspector | Xirrus
Direct link to the program is here Wi-Fi Inspector Confirmation

{If the above link does not work heres another link Thank you for downloading Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector | PCWorld}

Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

Run the program

A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus...-1-RevB-6.aspx

post a screen shot of the program running.
if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)

To post a screen shot of the active window.
1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
OR
2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.

Note:
For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

If you are using the Mac OS then use iStumbler 99 or
if you want to optimise base station position and signal strength / dead spots use
AP Grapher - Mac OS X AirPort Stumbler and Wireless Graphing Software which has a graph function to monitor signal
------------------------------------------------------------------------
__________________
Wayne

etaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 10:50 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
OS: windows 7



Ok. I am out of town until Sunday, I will do this then and post it here. Thank you for the help

__________________
apartment is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] my internet keep getting disconnecting connecting
Hi.I'm new on this forum.I got problem with my internet connection.It keeps dropping then connecting by itself.I cant download anything because in the middle it just drops.My connection is wireless and is cable.My other housemates who have laptops like me have no problem with connection.I took my...
jumrose123 Networking Support 52 03-21-2014 05:18 PM
Linksys Wireless Router Acting Up
I have had a Linksys router (WRT610N) for about three years, with no problems. Recently, it stopped working suddenly (no connectivity) and it didn't seem like it was correlated to anything else that I had done. When I changed my TCP/IPv4 settings from a static IP to "Obtain an IP address...
Nexus6 Protocols and Routing 5 12-19-2011 10:45 AM
Trying to make a wireless connection from a wired and wireless dlink router
We have an office which currently has a dlink dsl-g504t wired router running which provides internet to 3 wired desktops. What i am trying to do is add our dlink dsl-g604t wireless router via ethernet to create a wireless network in the central lounge (better range throughout house), using the...
nickfew Networking Support 4 08-14-2011 04:24 PM
Cisco E2000 has no Internet connection
I have spent a month now on this and really could use some help! We have Linkline ADSL that was set up by them with a Netopia 2241N-006 modem and a Cisco 33674 wired router. We got a Cisco E2000 wireless router to replace the wired one. It sets up perfectly, in that I can see and connect to the...
DaPK Protocols and Routing 8 05-05-2011 09:14 PM
Linksys Router WRT120N Wireless Problem, Pls HELP
Hi, I got this router two months ago and have its been working flawlessly at the office on Windows XP, ie My laptop can detect the network, connect to it and the internet connection is brilliant. We recently got new laptops that came with Windows 7. On these machines, the network is detected and...
mastia Cabling and Network Cards 1 01-28-2011 08:39 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts