Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Can't reset DLink N150 router

This is a discussion on Can't reset DLink N150 router within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a dlink N150 Home Router. For the past few days I have not been able to connect to

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2011, 09:19 PM   #1
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium

I have a dlink N150 Home Router. For the past few days I have not been able to connect to my modem. i have tried to unplug and restart them. I spoke with my internet service provider and after trying a few things he says that my modem is fine. he said it most likely my router. He advised me to reset it.

So I looked up the instructions and it said to push the little reset button on the back and reinstall. So that done, I inserted the installation disk into my laptop and proceeded with the installation of it again but now I am getting caught up on Step 3 of 6.

So Step 2 and 3 is where I connect my laptop to the router and then plug the power outlet into the back of the router. It then says that is Locating Router. After a few minutes, I get the following msg:

Router Setup requires your new router to be confgured with the deafult username and password

Follow These Steps
Restore your router's factory defaults (for information on how to restore your new router's factory defaults, consult your new router's documentation

Am I missing something? I cannot get past Step 3 of the installation but is there something else I should be doing? Am I doing something wrong?
annieperson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 10:47 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 20,454
OS: Windows O/S'es

annieperson - Welcome to TSF,

Let's reconfigure your DLink router and start all over again. There's no need to use the DLink CD.

RESET the router again to factory default setting by pushing the reset button and follow this guide. Here's another helpful guide as well.

An update will be nice.
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 11:23 PM   #3
Registered Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20

My experience with D-link router resets tells me that you may not be holding the reset button in for a long enough period of time to effect the reset. Mine takes about 10-20 seconds before it works, and my unit must be "unpowered". I've had routers that wanted to be plugged in to reset as well, so I suggest you try it both ways. But be patient in holding the button either way.
irdaneel is offline   Reply With Quote
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Post a Question

Gear in this thread

» Site Navigation
 > FAQ

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 AM.

Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts


Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com