Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Can't connect to Internet with Linksys router and ISP's satellite modem

This is a discussion on Can't connect to Internet with Linksys router and ISP's satellite modem within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. If my laptop is connected directly to the satellite's ISP modem, I can connect to the internet. However, if I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2010, 06:57 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP2



If my laptop is connected directly to the satellite's ISP modem, I can connect to the internet. However, if I connect the laptop to my Linksys router then connect the Linsys router to the ISP modem, I cannot connect to the internet. Vista reports everything is ok. I can access the Linsys setting via 192.168.1.1, but I don't understand what I am looking at.

In summary:
Laptop --> ISP modem works
Laptop --> Router --> ISP modem doesn't work

I've set up the router according to the instructions, but obviously, I am missing something. The setup disk that came with the router says everything is ok.

I want to do this because the ISP modem has only one port for a computer and no wireless capability. The router has four ports and wireless capability.

Router: Linksys WRT54GS2 V1
ISP Modem: Surfbeam Satellite Modem SM 2101
ISP Provider: Wild Blue

Wild Blue tech support says it can be done, but "don't know how." I don't know what to do. Any ideas?

__________________
XYZPDQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2010, 09:47 AM   #2
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,874
OS: Windows O/S'es



Hi and welcome to TSF!

This simple guide should help you setup your Linksys router and get your wireless network up and running.

Please update.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:23 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP2



I tried the instructions.

No luck yet. When I have the router plugged in, the other laptop says "I got this wireless signal." After some playing around, it appears that the router doesn't recognize that it is getting a signal from the modem.

I'm going to try one more thing before I give up again.
__________________
XYZPDQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:32 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP2



I give up. I don't get it; all the right lights light up but there's no signal between the router and the modem.
__________________
XYZPDQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:18 PM   #5
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,874
OS: Windows O/S'es



See if this helps.

1. First, turn your Router off and wait for a couple of minutes.
2. Turn off your modem.
3. Disconnect all the ethernet cables that are connected to the router and modem and the PC.
4. Reconnect them and ensure that there are no loose connections in between them.
5. Now, switch on your PC and let it boot.
6. Switch on the modem first and after it gets initialized, switch on the router.

Then from one fo your wireless computers, see if you can detect your own network.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 05:30 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP2



No dice. I can't get even get a wired connection to work with this setup. The lovely diagram shows that the laptop recogizes the router, but the router cannot connect to the internet.

Some messages appeared that suggested Windows Firewall might be the culprit, so I changed some of those settings. When it's set to on, the diagnostic tools says "Policy Provider: Windows Firewall Filter name: Query user" If I check the "Block all incoming" box, then The Filter name is "Shielded main rule" and if I turn off the firewall, I get "Problem with DNS"

I am not a networking guy and I don't know what any of this means.
__________________
XYZPDQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 08:45 AM   #7
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,874
OS: Windows O/S'es



From your computer please try this Clean Boot process. If it doesn't work, I would recommend a router reset.

To reset your router hold the Reset button on the WRT54GS2 for about 30 seconds. Follow the link that I provided you on how to setup your Lynksis router.
After the reset, pls. try to access the router's configuration page.
__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 06:24 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 5
OS: Vista SP2



The clean boot process didn't work. :( I removed some crapware that I found running in the background, though.

I have reset the router and I can access the router settings via 192.168.1.1 without a problem. I just don't know what those settings mean :(
__________________
XYZPDQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:09 PM   #9
2xg
Team Manager, Networking Forums, Microsoft MVP
 
2xg's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 19,874
OS: Windows O/S'es



Now to get your wireless internet connection going please follow these steps,Configure the Router only. skip the first one. Save and close once you are finished. Now try connecting to the internet wired and wireless.

An update will be appreciated.

__________________

Microsoft MVP 2011-2013 Windows Expert Consumer
Networking Articles & Tutorials
2xg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts