Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Cable Modem Won't Connect

This is a discussion on Cable Modem Won't Connect within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have a Gateway desktop recently moved to a new location. It doesn't seem to recognize the new ISP cable


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2008, 05:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
OS: win XP sp2



I have a Gateway desktop recently moved to a new location. It doesn't seem to recognize the new ISP cable modem. LAN connection shows connected. TCP/IP properties show no IP address, no subnet mask, and no default gateway. What can I do?

__________________
bobbiking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 06:10 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Start with some information.

Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.

What country are you located in.
Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.




If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms?

If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands:

PING 216.109.112.135

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL


Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2008, 03:24 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
OS: win XP sp2



Thanks for your help. My ISP is Astound CA. My cable modem is a Motorolla, model SB5101, no router, direct connection, and no network. I am using XP Home with SP2.Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Melissa>
PING 216.109.112.135

Pinging 216.109.112.135 with 32 bytes of data:

Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.
Destination host unreachable.

Ping statistics for 216.109.112.135:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Melissa>
PING yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Documents and Settings\Melissa>
NBTSTAT -n
NetBT is not bound to any devices
C:\Documents and Settings\Melissa>
IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration


C:\Documents and Settings\Melissa>
__________________
bobbiking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 07:57 AM   #4
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

Please respond to all the following steps.
  1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
  2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
  3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 04:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3
OS: win XP sp2



Thanks again. One device listed under Network adapters, it is net adapter 1394. It does not have a red X. Other Devices has a yellow ?. Under Other Devices, Ethernet controller, Multimedia controller, and SM Bus controller all have a yellow ? All other devices are clear.
__________________
bobbiking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2008, 04:35 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
TriggerFinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 12,250
OS: XP SP3, PCLinuxOS2007, Win 7 Ultimate


Send a message via MSN to TriggerFinger Send a message via Yahoo to TriggerFinger

if i may jump in...

i was once using a motorola cable modem that would not recognize my new PC (i replaced the old one). old PC can connect without problems. cable modem came from provider of internet (COX). i was instructed to power OFF the cable modem with cables removed. support person said i have to wait for 4 hours and connect the cables back and power ON the PC then power ON the cable modem. so far that worked.

i was told the cable modem sort of remembers the MAC address of the old PC that even if i replaced it with a new one (with a different MAC address), it would not give it an IP address.

security measures perhaps? i really do not know. until now i cannot make it work with a router. i just gave up on it because my new PC seem to connect fine.
TriggerFinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:50 AM   #7
Microsoft MVP
 
johnwill's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania, US
Posts: 50,845
OS: Windows 7, XP-Pro, Vista, Linux

My System


You are missing all of your drivers, that's why you have all the issues in Device Manager. Once you load the network drivers (and chipset ones as well), this will probably work a lot better.

This has nothing to do with your broadband modem or external hardware.

__________________
If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!

Microsoft MVP - Windows Desktop Experience
johnwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts