Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Networking Forum > Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite

Arris wtm652g admin password problems

This is a discussion on Arris wtm652g admin password problems within the Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok so I am trying to get into my configuration page for my Arris router. I type in the IP


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-30-2011, 11:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7


EEK!

Ok so I am trying to get into my configuration page for my Arris router. I type in the IP and it asks me for a password. I have not set a personal password and it says that the default is blank, but that doesn't work...

No problem I thought, I can factory reset and it will change it back to default. The manual confirms this. I hold reset for X seconds and everything is reset to default (ESSID, no encryption, etc.), except for the password it seems. I reset several more times trying different combinations of unplugging, holding reset longer, connected through CAT5 or wireless, and so on.

I have also tried every password I can think of. admin, administrator, password, the PID #, the WPA password, leaving the field blank, and literally typing "blank." It always tells me "login error !!"

When I reboot into Windows it runs me through a mini setup, allowing me to change the ESSID and encryption and all of that. Could Windows be changing the admin password? Is there something simple I am overlooking? Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
jowens42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:35 PM   #2
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


When you resetted the router hold in for about 10 to 20 seconds all the lights on the router should light up indicating reset has been successful using an opened paperclip and pressing and holding in little hole on back of router.

Sometimes default username and password are on a label on bottom of the router check there or go to the support pages for your arris model and it will give you the default username and password there.

We can offer no other advice than this i am afraid.

__________________
TheCyberMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2011, 03:45 PM   #3
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Is this modem provided by your ISP?

Most ISP will have the admin password changed. They are usually reserved for internal use.

May try contacting ISP to confirm.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intermittent email problems - password rejected
I wonder if anyone can suggest anything else to check with my problem... I have a broadband connection through Tiscali that works perfectly, but my e-mail only works intermittently. It worked perfectly until about 3 or 4 months ago. I use Outlook Express and about 50% of the time, I get an...
gavcradd Networking Support 6 03-27-2011 02:07 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts