Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

Tor browser won't open

This is a discussion on Tor browser won't open within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, My problem is pretty similar as the one here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f131/solved-tor-browser-wont-open-638748.html I've checked the log and everything was fine according


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-26-2013, 10:36 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



Hi,

My problem is pretty similar as the one here:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f131/solved-tor-browser-wont-open-638748.html

I've checked the log and everything was fine according to that.
But I don't have a clue what the solution is to this problem, could you help?
I'm not using firefox, but the Tor browser alredy has the browser in a folder.
I've tried to download the latest software and tried again, but that didn't help.
I've also checked the path to the Tor-program that it's the correct one.

__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 03-26-2013, 10:48 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF if you scroll down a little you have manuals,guides and Faq's which might provide some help https://www.torproject.org/

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-27-2013, 11:52 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



Hi

I looked at the FAQ's, but there wasn't anything helpful.
Vidalia has succeeded with establishing a connection, but the browser won't however open. :(
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 03-27-2013, 12:00 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Did you download the full package or just the browser, your the second person since yesterday having issues due to tor, they had to uninstall it as nothing was working correctly for them just thought I would mention it
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-28-2013, 07:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



Yes, I downloaded the full package. And yes, I've also uninstalled the whole thing a few times earlier, but that haven't had any effect on the problem :(
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 03-28-2013, 11:25 AM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



They say just install and your done but we know that is not the case see if the advanced info is of any help https://www.torproject.org/docs/tor-doc-windows.html.en
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 03-29-2013, 04:23 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



That wasn't unfortunately any help to solve why the browser won't open. I've tried to install the package again many times but that doesn't help.
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 03-29-2013, 07:11 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



There is a suggestion here which helped the op [SOLVED] Tor browser won't open there is also a link to the tor project there should be further troubleshooting
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 08:28 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



The link/case wasn't such helpful either
Maybe I should e-mail the TOR-team or something, because I haven't found a solution from the tor site, and not from here either.
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 04-04-2013, 08:30 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



I would give it a shot to be honest I would dump tor there are other ways to browse anonomously
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:36 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



Yeah, you are right about that, but Tor is the most secure and effective way to browse anonymously...
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 04-08-2013, 08:57 AM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



I can only suggest the install guides and wiki https://www.torproject.org/docs/documentation.html.en
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 05:51 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
OS: win 7



Yeah well, thanks for your help! I try then somehow with those instructions to solve the problem.
__________________
svsa is offline  
Old 04-10-2013, 07:11 AM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



There is not a lot out there on solving the issue probably not to many tor users I expect you can use addons in firefox to browse anonymously which might be simpler for use https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/fir...vacy-security/
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 11:52 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
OS: WINDOWS XP



In windows xp, tor browser seems to have this issue opening from shortcuts. try double clicking on the program's actual location (go to tor browser's folder and open from there). Works for me.
__________________
dmiranda is offline  
Old 08-05-2013, 12:33 PM   #16
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,871
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



The op last posted 4 months ago I expect they have resolved their issue but thanks for the info. The thread will now be closed

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cant open nvidia 8500 control panel.. and cant play games any more
please help me .. before i can play games like nba 2k11 then i down loaded this online game called dragona.. it was very lag and and after that it stops... then my computer restarts , and when it re opens it open with me to choose between to go ta a safe mode or to open it normally when i...
lordhar Video Card Support 2 09-06-2011 06:09 PM
Open With
About two weeks ago, I've been having a window box pop up everytime I try to open something asking what do I want to open it with, the "Open With" box. I've browsed and searched and tried things to open the internet explorer and PC games, but it never really worked. I managed to work my way around...
Nicjoeone Windows XP Support 3 05-09-2011 04:31 PM
Some programs won't open in Windows 7
Hi All, I have strange issue in my Windows 7. Usually, every time I turn my computer on, I open AutoCAD, opera web browser, yahoo messenger, and winamp. But recently, I can't open all that programs. Sometimes I can't open opera and yahoo messenger and when I open AutoCAD, the AutoCAD is...
abet Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 05-07-2011 11:11 AM
Can't Open Programs/Files Wihtout Admin Permission
Hello, during a recent find of malware, either by my actions or that of the malware, my programs wouldn't open unless in Administrator permission. After, changing some permission values in a specific application called ehn.exe (which was marked as a virus), the situation improved slightly. Now,...
Fancykiller65 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 04-29-2011 02:23 PM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts