Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

[SOLVED] live streaming on firefox lags or freezes

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] live streaming on firefox lags or freezes within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi. my live streaming on firefox was working like a charm until recently it started to lag. now its to


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-13-2011, 03:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



hi. my live streaming on firefox was working like a charm until recently it started to lag. now its to the point where it will lag then just freeze. i've scanned my computer using malwarebytes and super antispyware but both are saying nothing is corrupted.

i'm currently using firefox 4 but i tried using 5 to see if it would make a difference and it doesn't. please help

__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 04:01 PM   #2
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Run the test at speedtest.com to check your Internet speeds. If they are not what you expect them to be (near what you are paying for), then you need to talk to your Internet service provider.

__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 06:36 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Might just be the case since they are streams, I find most of them lag and freeze quite often. If you can use the same stream on another computer and it is fine, then it might be something on your computer causing the issue.
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 07:22 PM   #4
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


And on the same network... Another machine on a different network does not rule out and ISP issue.
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



my internet speed isn't an issue and i frequently ask other members thru the chat on the live stream if they are experiencing the same issue and they say no
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2011, 09:21 PM   #6
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Did you run the speed test?

Depending on the type of connection you have, things can happen to slow it down. For example, I live very near a university. Every Sept., when the students come back and get hooked up, my speeds drop to near dialup. I pay for the fastest service currently available through cable. I have to call them up every year to split their node since they have, yet again, overloaded it.

Time of day can make a difference on cable as well and flaky phone lines can mess up DSL. You really should run the test, and run it a few times at various times of day.
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:04 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



I've tested the speed at different times of the day and it's pretty consistent each time. I also run a registry cleaner and there's little difference
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 07:36 PM   #8
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Do not use registry cleaners. They cause much more harm than good. Remove the on you have installed.

What was your speed? Download speed is the most important here.
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 03:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



download speed: 1121 kbps
upload speed : 269 kbps

i removed the registry cleaner. i also noticed on my task manager that my cpu usage is 100%. what can i do to fix that as well?
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 04:36 PM   #10
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


That's about 1Mbps. Very extremely speed for live streaming. What speed are you paying for?

What in your task manager is using the highest amount and how much is it using?
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 05:31 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



the highest amount is firefox. after that it's a toss up between avast and plugin-container
As for internet service, we have broadband
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:39 PM   #12
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Great, you have broadband, but what speed broadband are you paying for? For example, I have Roadrunner. They offer 4-5 different packages with speeds varying from up to 3 Mbps to 50 Mbps. I have a package that is for up to 15 Mbps but am getting between 20-30 Mbps. I need to know what speed you are supposed to be getting to determine if you need to contact your ISP or if you just don't have a good enough package for streaming live video. This really is not a Firefox issue.

The main reasons for Firefox using that much of your resources is from your extensions and/or plugins. Flash is notorious for causing high CPU and memory usage. A lot of this also depends on your system configuration. If you have an older machine, you will see higher CPU usage with today's demands.
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 06:46 PM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
lorjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 2,960
OS: XP, Win7



Same speed that I get, it gets me where I want to go.
__________________
lorjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:00 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



i'm paying for 768 kbps download. i'm starting to think it has to do with cpu usage rather than my internet. when i'm in firefox the task manager is saying firefox is 90% of 100 usage but when i close firefox it's still on 100% usage but the main percentage varies every second or 2
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:14 PM   #15
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


What is your system configuration?

But I doubt that's the issue. What sites are you streaming the video from?
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:33 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



i'm streaming the video from firstrowsports.eu then i tried ustream.tv

windows xp professional version 5.1.2600
Service Pack: 3.0 Location: C:\WINDOWS
Intel(R) Pentium(R) M processor 1.86GHz Version: x86 Family 6 Model 13 Stepping 8 Speed: 800 MHz
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 07:38 PM   #17
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Sorry, I will not register to that betting site to test the video. Are you seeing this problem on any other site where you don't have to register for something?

This is a laptop, right? A pretty old one too, right? How much RAM?

What brand and model laptop is this?
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 08:51 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



you can try justin.tv. you don't need to register to see one of their streams

2004 dell latitude d610 laptop
1gb RAM
__________________
jlr9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 09:07 PM   #19
TSF - Enthusiast
 
Daifne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 1,537
OS: Win7 SP1/Ubuntu/OS X Snow Leapord/XP/FreeNas

My System


Are you running the stream at the lowest setting? With your system and your Internet speed, I wouldn't set it any higher.

Yup, old machine, but you do have a decent amount of RAM for XP. The CPU is very old though.

I would still like to know what speed you are paying for with your ISP. You may be having connection problems if you are paying for a higher speed than 1Mbps. I'm assuming that you are in the UK or Europe somewhere. From what I understand, you folks get much better speeds than we do here, usually. You have a better infrastructure and your ISP's seem to be a tad more reasonable. I could be wrong though. ;-)
__________________
Daifne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 07:52 AM   #20
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,387
OS: Win7-64

My System


Is anyone else on your network connected to the internet when you're trying to watch a stream?

Are you using a proxy?

If your network is not properly secured, one of your neighbors could be using your bandwidth. Are you using WPA, WEP or no encryption in your router config?

Have you scanned for viruses and spyware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlr9
when i'm in firefox the task manager is saying firefox is 90% of 100 usage but when i close firefox it's still on 100% usage
Post back with a Task Manager screenshot showing the high CPU usage after you've closed Firefox.

__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pl suggest some good VHF radio on which I can do live video streaming
I want to do live video streaming over a VHF ( or may be HF also) radio. The basic requirements are : 1. Range at least 8-10 KM. 2. Weight : As light as possible. ( I want to mount the radio on a aeromodel helicopter) 3. The radio should support enough bandwidth so that live video...
naveenn Electronics 1 05-02-2011 02:56 AM
System performance is virtually standstill
Thanks for your help here. I'm afraid I'm a bit of a novice here but I think I've followed the forum instructions with the scans and detail in this e-mail. Alsi I don't have an installation disk or a Boot CD. The system performance is excessively slow on all applications whether opening excel...
roybrfc Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 25 02-22-2011 03:05 PM
redirect to mywebface, mywebsearch, and wizard101
For the past few days, I have been getting redirected to mywebface or wizard101.com when I visit some websites, not all, but they are normal and safe websites that I visit and have always visited, but now I'm getting this redirection. I will refresh the website and it will redirect again. This only...
woodman123 Resolved HJT Threads 19 02-16-2011 09:13 PM
Bad Image Error - AVG Related
I am getting the bad image error pop up, which says C:\\Windows\system32\AVGSSTX.DLL is either not designed to run on Windows or conatins an error. I have attached my HJT log and would appreciate any help. I've seen a similar entry and understand this virus can be removed though was not sure if I...
redmini65 Resolved HJT Threads 18 01-11-2011 06:18 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts