Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

[SOLVED] Firefox: The proxy server is refusing connections Options

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Firefox: The proxy server is refusing connections Options within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello im a newbie & was wandering if anybody can help, I have started to get this annoying message everytime

Closed Thread

Old 04-24-2008, 05:56 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello im a newbie & was wandering if anybody can help, I have started to get this annoying message everytime i try to use Firefox

Quote:
The proxy server is refusing connections

Firefox is configured to use a proxy server that is refusing connections.

* Check the proxy settings to make sure that they are correct.

* Contact your network administrator to make sure the proxy server is
working.
I know how to disable the proxy server but if i close firefox and reopen the old setting with proxy enabled returns back into effect and i get the error again. So i can get firefox to connect but i have to disable the proxy server each time (very annoying). i have done test with very reliable virus & spyware programs plus even used hijackthis and they have found nothing infected or a problem that may cause this, please help if you can this is totally doing my head in.

Old 04-24-2008, 04:01 PM   #2
Design Team

Do you have a proxy managing add-on installed?
That could affect it...

I used to get the same problem when going between school and home (i'd have to disable and enable using a proxy)

Best thing i can advise is installing:
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/6709

then going into the options (tools/add-ons/proxyswitch/options) and then setting it to turn the proxy off when firefox is started... then you can just click the little switch icon to turn the proxy back on....