Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

[SOLVED] Can't access certain websites

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Can't access certain websites within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so I'm unsure whether this is the right place to post this problem;


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-2012, 04:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum so I'm unsure whether this is the right place to post this problem; however, as I'm a Firefox user, I thought I'd try here first. If it's not the right place I'd be grateful for pointers to the correct forum.

My problem is that I can't access certain websites; I either get Timeout problems or they load in a wierd hybrid text/graphics form or they don't load at all. The problem exists on three computers in the same house running Windows 7 Ultimate, Windows 7 Home and Windows XP Pro and it exists in Firefox 13.0.1, Google Chrome and MS Internet Explorer.

Today the sites in question are :

ownersdirect.co.uk
bbc.co.uk
ebay.fr
ebay.co.uk
amazon.fr
amazon.co.uk
paypal.fr
paypal.co.uk
zenfolio.com
photo.net


The strange thing is that if I connect to the net via Tor/Firefox, the problem does not exist. In view of this I contacted my ISP who told me that no-one else had the problem so if Tor worked, then use Tor or another proxy. Of course this is not a solution.

Any help would be much appreciated as this is driving me nuts; I just can't work

__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 05:58 AM   #2
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,861
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Hello BritinFrance & welcome to TSF

It looks like you cannot accsess any secure websites. Bleeping Computer has a step by step procedure for this problem. Please try the steps mentioned in Can't Access Secure Sites. Post back

__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 06:15 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Thanks for the response Babbzzz. However, that link has a lot of info in it and is a little confusing. The first post deals with IE but I don't have a problem with IE specifically, it's every browser. Nor do I have a problem with Norton (wouldn't touch it with a bargepole!). As Tor seemed to offer a solution, I've pointed Firefox to a free proxy server and everything now works fine in terms of access. The problem is that browsing is a bit slower than it was, plus of course I don't want to use a proxy server for online purchases.

So any further guidance would be appreciated. Why does browsing using my ISPs geuine allocated IP address cause problems when browsing using a proxy server doesn't present those problems?
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:28 AM   #4
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 658
OS: W7 x64, W8 x64, OSX 10.8



Quote:
I either get Timeout problems or they load in a wierd hybrid text/graphics
Can we have some examples (details) of this? Any errors at all?

Quote:
I've pointed Firefox to a free proxy server and everything now works fine in terms of access. The problem is that browsing is a bit slower than it was, plus of course I don't want to use a proxy server for online purchases.
Most FREE proxy server sites are slow, although you can pay for a dedicated proxy server service for the best results

That said, I wouldn't recommend making purchases through a free proxy server. Also, you need a SSL capable proxy server for secure purchases.
__________________
Happy to help!
ReviverSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Ok, here's a screen shot of the ebay screen I just had in Google Chrome
The username and password white-out is my doing after the screen grab
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ebay.jpg
Views:	228
Size:	129.5 KB
ID:	112400  
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:43 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



This is amazon.co.uk in Google Chrome
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amazon.jpg
Views:	142
Size:	169.0 KB
ID:	112401  
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 07:44 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



and in Internet Explorer
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amazon-msie.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	156.5 KB
ID:	112402  
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:00 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Quote:
Originally Posted by Babbzzz View Post
It looks like you cannot accsess any secure websites.
I should have said that I have no problem at all with some secure sites, e.g. https://bank.barclays.co.uk/
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2012, 09:57 PM   #9
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 658
OS: W7 x64, W8 x64, OSX 10.8



Hi there,

Let's try this:

Go to: Start menu > Control Panel > Internet Options

Follow the suggestions listed under the section Configure security, content, and advanced settings in Internet Explorer on this page:

How to troubleshoot problems accessing secure Web pages with Internet Explorer 6 Service Pack 2

Also, give this a read:
Disable Secure and NonSecure Items Warning Message - iMacros
__________________
Happy to help!
ReviverSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:20 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Thanks for the suggestion, but as I'm running IE 9 in Win 7 Ultimate and the problem exists in Firefox 13 and Google Chrome too (except when I use a proxy server) I don't see how going through all thos IE 6 SP2 settings would make any difference.

I don't understand why the problem has only recently started and I don't understand why using a proxy server eliminates the problem (I'm currently trialing 'Easy-Hide-IP for security reasons) - surely that means that the problem is with my ISP?
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 12:52 AM   #11
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 658
OS: W7 x64, W8 x64, OSX 10.8



These options (settings) are common among all versions. Do look up Internet Options in the Windows Control Panel to see if you can locate and change those settings.

No harm in trying is there? :)
__________________
Happy to help!
ReviverSoft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 01:06 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Okay, will do. Thanks
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2012, 02:42 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Uk born, living in France
Posts: 9
OS: Win 7 Ultimate



Okay, the problem is solved!

I spoke to a 'super-techie' friend of mine in the UK over the phone this morning and he suspected a DNS problem. He suggested going in to IPV4 and setting the DNS addresses to 198.153.194.40 (Norton) and 4.4.4.2 (Google)

Everything works perfectly now.
__________________
BritinFrance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2012, 09:37 AM   #14
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,861
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Glad you got it sorted out. Mark this thread as solved.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 05:40 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate SP1



OK

If you are to face this problem again, you may try this small fix
Attached Files
File Type: rar Fix_Block_List.rar (73.6 KB, 495 views)
__________________
koaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 06:00 AM   #16
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,401
OS: Win7-64

My System


Hi koaz1, welcome to TSF and thanks for posting.

Do you have a source for your attached file, or any more information about what it does?

VirusTotal scan results for Fix_Block_List.exe: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3...is/1382446518/
__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2013, 03:39 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 2
OS: Win7 Ultimate SP1



Quote:
Originally Posted by koala View Post
Hi koaz1, welcome to TSF and thanks for posting.

Do you have a source for your attached file, or any more information about what it does?

VirusTotal scan results for Fix_Block_List.exe: https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/3...is/1382446518/
Thank Koala,
As a matter of fact this is just a patch file that copies the original " hosts " file to it's directory " C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc " and no more than that .

__________________
koaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft websites - access problem
hi, Recently I have not been able to access microsoft websites - cannot tell exactly when - but when I try to access any using AOL and IE explorer I get "the web address you entered could not be found" I can access all other website and my internet settings appear to be ok. Why is this? thanks
hamiltr Windows XP Support 1 01-26-2012 03:57 PM
Websites wanting to access my information
Hi, I stupidly clicked a link to a website from a "friend" on Facebook. I don't really know this person, and think that they may be trying to send me malware. My Mcafee site adviser asked me if I really wanted to go there, as it might be a phising site. I clicked, then realised that my friend did...
Billy84 Inactive Malware Help Topics 0 01-09-2012 04:08 PM
Access Denied?
I'm having problems installing anything that has to write to the C:\programdata folder. When installing programs I get -- access denied to programdata folder error - can not continue instillation. This has happened with me twice so far and I can't find a workaround to install these programs. ...
drapetomaniac Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 10-13-2011 08:03 AM
Removed Virus but still having problems
Hello, I'm working on a computer that has a problem. It firsted started off with AntiVirus AntiSpyware 2011 issues. Changed all the files to hidden, and Read-only. Disabled the Task manger. Once it got the Internet it would re-install. Went through the register and deleted all keys that...
sblair_5 Resolved HJT Threads 45 05-27-2011 08:05 PM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 12:45 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts