Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

javascript application error in FireFox

This is a discussion on javascript application error in FireFox within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. While running FireFox a pop up box appears with the heading "javascript application error". the message in the box is:


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-06-2012, 12:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 32 bit



While running FireFox a pop up box appears with the heading "javascript application error". the message in the box is: "an error has occurred". When I click on the "OK" box at the bottom the message reappears, sometimes as many as 5 or 6 times. This usually happens after I have been running Skype and or Minecraft for a while. At the same time the Minecraft game begins to lag severely.

If I attempt to "check Java" Firefox crashes.

I have reinstalled Java several times. Java is enabled in Firefox. Any suggestions?

__________________
Captaingreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 05:08 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Often caused by a conflicting extension or third-party toolbar in Firefox. It's a trial-and-error job - disable each extension or third-party toolbar in turn (you must disable a toolbar, simply hiding it is not sufficient), then restart Firefox after disabling each one.

When Firefox no longer shows the javascript error, the last toolbar or extension you disabled will be the the one that's causing the problem.

If you want to be sure that it is indeed an add-on that's causing it before going through each one, re-start Firefox with all add-ons disabled. Click Help >> Re-start with add-ons disabled.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 03:20 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
OS: Windows 7 32 bit



Must have been an add-on. Removing them appears to have solved that problem.
__________________
Captaingreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 12:13 PM   #4
Manager
- Alternative Computing
- Design
 
wmorri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 5,763
OS: Window 7/Ubuntu/Fedora/Backtrack 5

My System

Send a message via AIM to wmorri Send a message via MSN to wmorri

If you want to use your add-ons then I would enable then one at a time until you get the error as pip22 said. Then you can just disable or remove the add-on that is causing the problem. You might also see if the add-on has an update that could fix the problem too.
__________________



Linux Forever!|html5 boilerplate
wmorri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Error applying transforms. Verify that the specified transform paths are val
please help me when i am trying to installing a game getting the following error please tell me wt to do !
fire_edge Windows XP Support 11 10-16-2012 04:45 PM
Backing up using ASR in preparation for SP3
From my old thread, http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f299/sudden-bsod-620254.htm I finally decided to do the necessary actions to fix my random BSOD, which includes installing SP3 and then upgrading my GEFORCE nvidia driver after. (Decided to stall because I knew it was going to take time) ...
sheenamaedc Windows XP Support 7 04-04-2012 06:50 AM
BSOD Error
Please find attached info in ZIP file and the following information on BSOD error · OS - Windows 7 · OS type - x64 · Operating System - Windows 7 Professional x64 bit · OS Installation - OEM Installation (Pre Installed) · Hardware Age - 4 Months old · Software/OS Age - 4 Months old (no...
rwroach BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 03-06-2012 02:24 PM
Hp laserjet 1020 plus driver not install in redhat 5.5
Hp laserjet 1020 plus driver not install in redhat 5.5 and not printing, how to resolved it.:whistling:
Basupalash Printer Support 1 03-06-2012 09:30 AM
Word 2003 indent markers don't stay in place
My indent markers on the left side of the ruler move after being set. The first line, hanging, and left indent markers all seem to have a mind of their own. I set them in their correct positions along the left margin, and they repeatedly move to the right, so that I need to reset them. This is a...
Tim8806 Microsoft Office support 0 03-06-2012 05:15 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts