Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Mozilla/Firefox Browsers

Can't get into a Java chat room

This is a discussion on Can't get into a Java chat room within the Mozilla/Firefox Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Specifically, these chats, I haven't been able to get in to them in about a month. General Chat - in


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-18-2011, 04:43 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 840
OS: XP Home Edition

My System


Specifically, these chats, I haven't been able to get in to them in about a month. General Chat - in the new style ChatZone. The email for support doesn't work, neither do the two emails listed for the domain at whois/networksolutions. Well, the one listed for Jason Whathisname says something like the mailbox is full, rather something like (I'd have to send it again, think I deleted the message) Quota Exceeded, etc.

Here, with Charter, the error I get is "erroneus nickname," no matter what nick I try (even just random letters, or something that actually DOES make sense) I have the latest version of Java, but that's not helping either.

Today I tried to wi-fi spots, one at a Restaurant that has Comcast for it's ISP, and one at a Barnes and Noble which AT&T, both times, I was able to connect to the internet just fine, but when I went and tried to enter a room in Chat-Web, I got this error.

Quote:
Closing link metg[advanced@XXXXX.hsd1.nh.comcast.(or ATT)net (Must be Java)
Does anyone know what the "Must be Java" part is supposed to mean, what must be Java? It can't be my java version as I already have the latest.

__________________
PC person is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2011, 10:24 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 840
OS: XP Home Edition

My System


I am not able to get in here, see this thread:

http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...om-601340.html

I had a friend of mine try getting in with his computer, no problems at all.

Anyway, I did find out something new. When I go to java website it tells me this

Quote:
We have detected the following old versions of Java that are installed on your system:

* Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment 6 Update 1
* Java(TM) 6 Update 2
* Java(TM) 6 Update 3
But only Java 6 update 27 is in my add/remove programs list. None of these are listed in, which it says to remove.

__________________
PC person is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 12:42 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 840
OS: XP Home Edition

My System


Sigh, oh well just I wonder what the problem is java, or what, I've tried reinstalling it. I've tried using 2 wi fi hotspots and I tried using another computer on our home network, the help email on that site doesn't work wonder what it could be, some issue with their site? Java? I'm totally in the dark here.
__________________
PC person is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2011, 12:46 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Laxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 5,037
OS: Win7 Ultimate x64

My System


Please visit here: Verify Java Version

Are you up to date?

What browser are you using to access the site? (version/build)

Do you have firewalls enabled? what are your security settings?
__________________

..Notepad++ | CoffeeCup | WAMP | GIMP | VLC | Debut | CometBird | Web Dev
Laxer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2011, 10:39 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northeast USA
Posts: 840
OS: XP Home Edition

My System


Well, I found they blocked my ISP in my area, cause they were having trouble with hacker/miscreants, wonder when they'll let me back in (not that I had anything to do with it)

__________________
PC person is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dwm.exe / csrss.exe / conhost.exe?
I am trying to clean up this computer for a friend - unfortunately someone else has already been messing around with it and trying to sort it out (I found various cleanup programs on the desktop) but to no avail. As far as I can see/have been told the symptoms have been - Hiding all documents...
lm03929z Resolved HJT Threads 20 05-09-2011 03:42 PM
.dll files missing, browser opens new tabs, google search redirects.
Hello, I'm a complete computer novice, but I know things are not right. At startup I get two pop-ups stating some .dll files are missing. I've googled these files and only got a couple of hits, it seems they're some kind of virus. My browser also opens up new tabs on it's own, and google search...
jtatauburn Resolved HJT Threads 24 04-02-2011 09:38 PM
Browser Redirect Issue
I have been having an issue with both IE and Firefox redirecting Google search results a majority of the time. I had done a scan with Spybot Search & Destroy prior to posting here and "Fraud.WindowsProtectionSuite" (15 entries) and "Microsoft.Windows.RedirectedHosts" (3 entries) were the only...
bob2881 Resolved HJT Threads 21 02-21-2011 06:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts