Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Internet Browsers and Email > Other Browsers

[SOLVED] Facebook won't load (on any browser)

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Facebook won't load (on any browser) within the Other Browsers forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, this is starting to get on my nerves now , I simply cannot access facebook on my PC, but


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-14-2012, 02:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
JonnyShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7


Evil

Hi, this is starting to get on my nerves now, I simply cannot access facebook on my PC, but can access it on my laptop and PC in my kitchen, my main browser is google chrome, but same happens on any broswer. Anyone know how to fix this?

Quote:
This webpage is not available
Google Chrome could not load the webpage because Welcome to Facebook - Log In, Sign Up or Learn More took too long to respond. The website may be down, or you may be experiencing issues with your Internet connection.
Here are some suggestions:
Reload this webpage later.
Check your Internet connection. Restart any router, modem, or other network devices you may be using.
Add Google Chrome as a permitted program in your firewall's or antivirus software's settings. If it is already a permitted program, try deleting it from the list of permitted programs and adding it again.
If you use a proxy server, check your proxy settings or contact your network administrator to make sure the proxy server is working. If you don't believe you should be using a proxy server, adjust your proxy settings: Go to the wrench menu > Settings > Show advanced settings... > Change proxy settings... > LAN Settings and deselect the "Use a proxy server for your LAN" checkbox.
Error 7 (net::ERR_TIMED_OUT): The operation timed out.
P.S. I sometimes get to the login page, but then the same happens again.

__________________
JonnyShep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 04:11 PM   #2
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support
 
Sysesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 245
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP, 98



Try this Tools - Internet Options - Clear Browers History, and saved passwords or delete all

__________________
Sysesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:03 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
JonnyShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sysesc View Post
Try this Tools - Internet Options - Clear Browers History, and saved passwords or delete all
I've tried that several times.

I even found the following online and tried:

Quote:
1. Check you're updated to the latest version of Chrome. Go to Wrench > About Google Chrome and allow Chrome to update. If not, you can update Chrome manually. [1]

2. Try using Facebook through a HTTPS connection. To do this browse to https://facebook.com. If this works, you can set Facebook to go to a HTTPS connection all the time by going to Account > Account Settings > Account security. Tick the box next to Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) whenever possible and save the changes.

3. Your Chrome profile may be corrupted, try creating a new one. [2]

4. (Windows only) If that doesn't solve the problem:
- Close Chrome.
- Start > Run (or search for run if you're using Vista/7)
- Type 'cmd' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once the black box appears, enter 'ipconfig /flushdns' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once that completes, enter 'ipconfig /renew' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once that completes, close the window, reopen Chrome and retry.

5. Disable any browser themes/extensions to see if they are causing the behaviour you're seeing.

6. Update/reinstall Java and Flash.

7. Try opening the website under another user account on your computer.

8. (Windows only) Check for problems with protected system files. Go to Start > Run. Enter the following: "SFC.EXE /SCANNOW" (without the quotes and make sure there is a space between SFC.EXE and /SCANNOW). This initiates the Microsoft utility that will scan and repair problems with protected system files on your computer.

9. Your computer may have been infected by a virus or malware; consider running a full security scan with reputable, up-to-date antivirus software such as Microsoft Security Essentials, McAfee or AVG.
But this did not work either, really need to sort this out ASAP before PC goes out the window
__________________
JonnyShep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:56 AM   #4
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support
 
Sysesc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 245
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP, 98



Okay you should try this now:

1. Check you're updated to the latest version of Chrome. Go to Wrench > About Google Chrome and allow Chrome to update. If not, you can update Chrome manually.


2. Try using Facebook through a HTTPS connection. To do this browse to https://facebook.com. If this works, you can set Facebook to go to a HTTPS connection all the time by going to Account > Account Settings > Account security. Tick the box next to Browse Facebook on a secure connection (https) whenever possible and save the changes.


Your Chrome profile may be corrupted, try creating a new one.


3. (Windows only) If that doesn't solve the problem:
- Close Chrome.
- Start > Run (or search for run if you're using Vista/7)
- Type 'cmd' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once the black box appears, enter 'ipconfig /flushdns' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once that completes, enter 'ipconfig /renew' (without quotes) and hit enter
- Once that completes, close the window, reopen Chrome and retry.


4. Disable any browser themes/extensions to see if they are causing the behaviour you're seeing.


5. Update/reinstall Java and Flash.


6. Try opening the website under another user account on your computer.


7. (Windows only) Check for problems with protected system files. Go to Start > Run. Enter the following: "SFC.EXE /SCANNOW" (without the quotes and make sure there is a space between SFC.EXE and /SCANNOW). This initiates the Microsoft utility that will scan and repair problems with protected system files on your computer.

8. Your computer may have been infected by a virus or malware; consider running a full security scan with reputable, up-to-date antivirus software such as Microsoft Security Essentials, McAfee or AVG.

Link for Microsoft Security Essentials download: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/windows/products/security-essentials
Link for Malwarebytes download: Malwarebytes : Malwarebytes Anti-Malware
__________________
Sysesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:20 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
JonnyShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Thats basically what ive just posted, and I said it didnt work...
__________________
JonnyShep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
OS: 7



I am having the same exact problem here as well.

For now I just remote desktop connect to pc it works on and use it.

But its not right, and bugs me.
Hope there is a fix, nothing I have found in the net yet with same problems have worked.
__________________
psc777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:25 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
JonnyShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by psc777 View Post
I am having the same exact problem here as well.

For now I just remote desktop connect to pc it works on and use it.

But its not right, and bugs me.
Hope there is a fix, nothing I have found in the net yet with same problems have worked.
Managed to sort mine, download Malwarebytes and run and delete the infected file then restart PC pal, worked for me.

Malwarebytes : Malwarebytes Anti-Malware PRO removes malware including viruses, spyware, worms and trojans, plus it protects your computer

__________________
JonnyShep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:48 AM   #8
Volunteer
 
Babbzzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: India
Posts: 5,768
OS: Ubuntu 14.04 LTS

My System


Hello JonnyShep & welcome to TSF
Try this: Go To: Start --> cmd --> type "ipconfig /flushdns" (without quotes)
Post back.
__________________

Submit New Articles Here

Linux User #565010

It's never about how good you are, it's about how much you can change lives.
Babbzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 10:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
OS: 7



I set a pw for Admin on the pc, and now works 99% of the time. (Strange fix)
When it doesnt work, its a link from Gmail I use.........
__________________
psc777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:33 PM   #10
via
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 47
OS: xp



Quote:
Originally Posted by psc777 View Post
I set a pw for Admin on the pc, and now works 99% of the time. (Strange fix)
When it doesnt work, its a link from Gmail I use.........
How it is done?I have same problem here.
__________________
via is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 09:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
OS: 7



Control panel, user accounts.

But it is still flaky now and then, Cant say for sure it was a fix, but its better
__________________
psc777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 04:13 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
JonnyShep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
OS: Windows 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by Babbzzz View Post
Hello JonnyShep & welcome to TSF
Try this: Go To: Start --> cmd --> type "ipconfig /flushdns" (without quotes)
Post back.
Tried that several times, but as I said on earlier comment, managed to fix it by downloading, running and deleting malware virus using Malwarebytes.
__________________
JonnyShep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 07:19 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
OS: 7



Quote:
Originally Posted by JonnyShep View Post
Tried that several times, but as I said on earlier comment, managed to fix it by downloading, running and deleting malware virus using Malwarebytes.
That was one of the things I did as well. 0 found of anything.

I was pretty sure I didn't have anything like that, I am the only one that uses this pc. And it's primarily for gaming.

__________________
psc777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display Issues
About 8 or 9 months ago I got a new computer (specs below). I have been having issues with it since then, however I did not return it because my old computer was a piece of **** and I really wanted this one. Whenever I watch youtube, and play some games (not of all them do this), my screen will...
babusca BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 117 09-05-2012 02:09 PM
[SOLVED] VIRUS????
Hello, Could someone PLEASE help me? I'm getting a lot of page 404 error, "Welcome to nginx!" when trying to load a page from my bookmark or even a simple search result from Google. Thank you very much for your time!!!!!! ***************************** . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) -...
bcdinh Resolved HJT Threads 48 03-19-2012 06:33 PM
Intermittent BSODS on Dell Vostro
I don't get extremely detailed into BSOD checking, so I'll leave this one up to you pros. Dell Vostro 1510, originally Windows Vista Home Premium, Upgraded to Windows 7 Ultimate (for bitlocker usage). Ran MS compatibility report prior to upgrade, all lights were green (save the usual uninstall...
mjones1 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 01-16-2012 08:19 AM
BSOD Vista Hall.dll
For About the last month my computer had been giving me BSOD. Mainly caused by the Hall.Dll as you can see in the screenshot of the BlueScreenViewer, I also included all the files as instructed in ''jcgriff2 BSOD Posting Instructions Windows 7 - Vista''. I hope someone can help me! Greetz.
LobeMusic BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 3 08-25-2011 07:49 AM
[SOLVED] BSOD problems.
· Vista · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None. Custom built. · OEM: Full Retail Version · Age of system (hardware): 3 years · Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? 3 years. Yes. · CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale · Video Card: EVGA GEforce 8800 GT...
ajcc323 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 25 02-24-2011 04:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:39 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts