Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Used ComboFix, Dell Dock won't open?

This is a discussion on Used ComboFix, Dell Dock won't open? within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Sorry, I wasn't sure which category to put this in. Well, I (once again) had the Google Redirect Virus and


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2011, 12:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7


Cry

Sorry, I wasn't sure which category to put this in. Well, I (once again) had the Google Redirect Virus and problems with fake virus software downloading itself to my computer, and then blocking me from opening up anything and everything. I have successfully got rid of those problems after downloading ComboFix, BUT now my computer has minor problems. For one, my cute little Dell Dock won't open :( It says "A device attached to this system is not functioning". Also, I noticed that my Amazon Wishlist Add-On button on Firefox won't show up. It doesn't give me an error when I try to put it on, it just doesn't do anything. That is my least concern though. Lord knows what else it has done to my computer. I've already lost my little display that shows up in the middle of my screen when I press the volume keys--I don't want to lose my little Dell Dock too D: Please help

__________________
lacyxsummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 03:39 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
Deleted 080713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 4,672
OS: Windows 7 SP1 x64



Hi,

Please post up the log produced by Combofix (C:\ComboFix.txt) in a new topic in the Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help forum.

While you may see ComboFix being used quite often without incident, the tool should not be run unsupervised (as stated in the Disclaimer that is first displayed by ComboFix when you run the tool). As explained in Post 2 of our pre-posting topic...

Quote:
Why we don't ask you to run ComboFix from the onset

As stated by the author of ComboFix:

ComboFix is a very powerful tool which when improperly used may render your machine to a doorstop.

We first need to verify if there's any rootkits present and how they could affect our tools. DDS & GMER are preliminary scans. We use their logs to map our strategy for attack.

With these logs we can determine the infections present & decide whether to deploy ComboFix.
__________________
Deleted 080713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell Studio, Win 7, stuck in restart loop
Hello all. I'm hoping someone can assist me with a sudden Win 7 boot up issue on Dell Studio laptop.... which **coincidentally** just came off its one year warranty ONE WEEK ago. It's actually my cousin's laptop who is attending college, and needs this up and running rather quickly. His...
celavi Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 4 09-13-2011 05:45 AM
[SOLVED] VCExpress Problem, Probably AppData\Permissions Problem?
I think it should be related to this forum because I think the problem is something with AppData \ Permissions which is related to Windows 7. I'm having a problem while running\installing Visual C++. The problem started 2 days ago, it did work before. When I'm trying to run I'm getting this...
benben12 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 8 02-09-2011 01:45 PM
Netgear FVX538 Firewall
Hi All, I am a newly joined to these forum, hopefully this is the correct section to post my inquiry. could anyone help me secure my network. we are running windows server 2003. the services installed are exchange 2003, AD, DNS, and our antivirus is Escan. When i am blocking some ports...
pdelcast Networking Support 3 02-07-2011 05:34 PM
[SOLVED] Help! All my programs now(don't) open with...
Hi, as I preamble I'm not a computer whiz. I have a Dell XPS 9000 (XPS 435T) desktop with Intel(R) CoreR7 CPU, 920 @2.67 GHz, 6 GB of Memory, 64 bits Operating system. Windows 7 Home Premium. The system is less then a year old and worked fine until today. Today though I decided to move some music...
tuto Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 01-13-2011 05:46 PM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 02:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts