Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

[SOLVED] Immunizing [windows-global hosts]

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Immunizing [windows-global hosts] within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am comfortable with my system security but whenever i go to spybot, in the immunize tab, it shows over


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-14-2008, 09:01 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 287
OS: XP, Windows 7



I am comfortable with my system security but whenever i go to spybot, in the immunize tab, it shows over 8000 unimmunized. I have tried everything to try to protect it but it looks as though something is blocking that. what should i do?

__________________
wii_zil is offline  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:48 PM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Angelfire777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,580
OS: Vista



Are you saying that immunize won't work?

Any chance you have AVG8 installed there?

__________________
UNITE and ASAP since 2006


If we have helped you, please consider donating.

The past won't be able to hurt you unless you keep on looking back at it.
Angelfire777 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 12:10 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 287
OS: XP, Windows 7



I have avira personal. the immunize does work, it just don't wanna immunize the 8000 items for the global host. the others are already protected. how do i do it?
__________________
wii_zil is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 05:53 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Angelfire777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4,580
OS: Vista



Sorry but I don't have spybot installed in my system so I'm not sure how to go around that. Maybe someone with spybot installed could help.
__________________
UNITE and ASAP since 2006


If we have helped you, please consider donating.

The past won't be able to hurt you unless you keep on looking back at it.
Angelfire777 is offline  
Old 05-18-2008, 06:23 PM   #5
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,838
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Hi wii_zil -

Quote:
the immunize does work, it just don't wanna immunize the 8000 items for the global host. the others are already protected. how do i do it?
If you open the Immunize page in Spybot, right click in the field and select all, then click the Immunize button ( green + sign) above.

If it won't take, you have some host file protection preventing changes.

Global (Hosts) in Spybot Immunize (bottom item in that window) adds items to the Windows hosts file.

If you look in the upper right of the immunize window, the number of protected items should be equal to the total (currently 77930 items), and unprotected should be 0.

If you have any other specific Spybot S&D related questions, you may want to ask them at Spybot's support forums.

http://forums.spybot.info/forumdisplay.php?f=4
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 09:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 287
OS: XP, Windows 7



tetonbob, everything is checked and still it doesnt work, right now im looking over all my settings especially all my programs to check if i have protected the hosts
__________________
wii_zil is offline  
Old 05-20-2008, 09:29 AM   #7
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,838
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Do you have ZoneAlarm or StopZilla installed? These are known to cause conflicts with this Spybot feature

Post a screenshot of the Spybot window.

In Windows a screenshot of the entire monitor, complete with taskbar, can be copied to the system clipboard by pressing the Print screen key (normally located in the top row on the right-hand side of the keyboard)..

You can then paste the clipboard into a program like MS Paint to save it as an image file or paste it directly into a document.
  1. Press the Print screen key
  2. Click the "Start" button (normally located in the bottom left of your screen).
  3. Click "Run" & type "mspaint" (without quotes) & click the "OK" button.
  4. Wait while the application "Paint" opens. Once it is open, proceed to the next step.
  5. Click the "Edit" menu and select "Paste".
  6. Click the "File" menu and select "Save As...". A dialog box will appear.
  7. In the "File name" field, enter a name of your choice.
  8. Click the "Save as type" drop-down and select "JPEG (*.JPG;*.JPEG;*.JPE*;.JFIF)".
  9. Click the "Save" button.

Attach it in your next reply, please.

To attach a file to a new post, simply
  1. Click the[Manage Attachments] button under Additional Options > Attach Files on the post composition page, browse to where you saved the file, and
  2. Click Upload.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:02 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 287
OS: XP, Windows 7



Yes i do have zonealarm but i don't use stopzilla
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	spybot.JPG
Views:	43
Size:	96.2 KB
ID:	28433  
__________________
wii_zil is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 10:11 AM   #9
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,838
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



I would suspect ZoneAlarm as the agent preventing any change to your host file, which is what that section of Spybot does.

Try disabling ZoneAlarm completely, or look in it's configuration for Host File Protection

1. Open the ZoneAlarm interface
2. Browse to Firewall > Main and select "Advanced"
3. Under "General Settings" deselect (remove checkmark) "Lock host file"

Then apply the changes in Spybot. Then reapply the ZA host file protection.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:47 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 287
OS: XP, Windows 7



wow it did work! thanks so much, im very happy..[stands up and jumps, weeeeeeeeee]
__________________
wii_zil is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 12:16 PM   #11
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,838
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64





You're welcome, glad it's working for you.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline  
Old 09-23-2008, 12:14 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP, SP2



Hey, tetonbob, I use Stopzilla and your tip on immunizing global hosts worked.

Here’s how I did it:
Open Stopzilla
Click “Real-time Protection”
Click “Active Enforcers”
Click “Network”
Click “Hosts File” to uncheck it
Click “Apply”
Click “OK”

Open Spybot and immunize, as usual. “Global Hosts” should be immunized.
Afterward, close Spybot.

Then, go back to Stopzilla and reverse the above procedure.

Thanks again, tetonbob and ..

Peace!

__________________
michaelbmcgee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts