Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Registration of Avast free version

This is a discussion on Registration of Avast free version within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I tried to register Avast free Anti-virus program so it won't expire in 30 days. But I can't do it,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2010, 11:18 PM   #1
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



I tried to register Avast free Anti-virus program so it won't expire in 30 days.

But I can't do it, when I click Register now button I have a choice of beginner , average user, advance user. When I choose any one of them nothing happens and when I try to click other menus or minimize the program it doesn't repond to anything, I am using Windows XP.

It is weird.

What is wrong ?

What should I do ?

I attach the photo below.


Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	avast.jpg
Views:	259
Size:	107.0 KB
ID:	81435  

__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 12:36 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 115
OS: xp



With the later version of Avast whuch you have, you cannot reregister as early as thirty days before current expiry.........the period is now fourteen days before expiry.

Your copy expires 5th December, so you will not be able to reregister until 22/23 November

__________________
guiblum is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:33 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



Thanks for letting me know.

How did you know about this ?
It is silly that they don't tell you these things when you are registering.
You think something is wrong.

Is there an earlier version which you can still download somewhere in which you can register right away ?


Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by guiblum View Post
With the later version of Avast whuch you have, you cannot reregister as early as thirty days before current expiry.........the period is now fourteen days before expiry.

Your copy expires 5th December, so you will not be able to reregister until 22/23 November
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:50 AM   #4
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



This is a new download and you should be able to register immediately. Have you been without AV protection at any time in the past??
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:20 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



I was using Norton Anti-virus before.
After it expire, I uninstall it, download and installed Avast yesterday.
When I try to register, it won't allow me.

I click Register now button I have a choice of beginner , average user, advance user. When I choose any one of them nothing happens and when I try to click other menus or minimize the program it doesn't repond to anything, I am using Windows XP. I had to re-boot to minimize the Avast program on system tray, otherwise program won't minimize after I click the
"Register Now" button.

However I can update the anti-virus program and did a full scan which didn't detect anything.

Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
This is a new download and you should be able to register immediately. Have you been without AV protection at any time in the past??
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:28 AM   #6
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



How long ago did Norton expire?? Norton may have been running but is not as effective if the definitions have not been updated.
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:30 AM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



About a month.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
How long ago did Norton expire?? Norton may have been running but is not as effective if the definitions have not been updated.
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:35 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



About a month.

Even I tried to click Registration form and Insert the licence key buttons below, nothing appears to enter enable me to enter anything.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/atta...sion-avast.jpg

Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
How long ago did Norton expire?? Norton may have been running but is not as effective if the definitions have not been updated.
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:39 AM   #9
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



Have you uninstalled Norton??

http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_...834EN&ln=en_US

Uninstall Avast and try again after uninstalling Norton.

http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

Do not navigate to any other site until Avast has been installed.

What is odd is that Avast does not respond to any commands....could be a bad install.
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 08:42 AM   #10
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



Do any tabs on the left side of the control panel work??
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:38 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



I uninstalled Norton from add/remove programs before I installed Avast in the beginning.
But I didn't re-boot before I install Avast. So don't know if that is why I have this problem ? Do I still need Norton Removal tool to uninstall Norton ?
If so, what is the direct link to download it from ?

Thanks.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
Have you uninstalled Norton??

http://us.norton.com/support/kb/web_...834EN&ln=en_US

Uninstall Avast and try again after uninstalling Norton.

http://www.avast.com/uninstall-utility

Do not navigate to any other site until Avast has been installed.

What is odd is that Avast does not respond to any commands....could be a bad install.
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 09:54 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



They work if I don't click "register now". After I click that it won't work anymore until I re-boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SABL View Post
Do any tabs on the left side of the control panel work??
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 10:04 AM   #13
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



I tried to unintall Avast, but I get this error.-

06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Started: 06.11.2010, 11:00:41
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Running setup_ais-2a5 (677)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Operating system: WindowsXP ver 5.1, build 2600, sp 3.0 [Service Pack 3]
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Memory: 65% load. Phys:155960/457200K free, Page:2269788/2486084K free, Virt:2067596/2097024K free
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Computer WinName: USER-195B18AF34
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Windows Net User: USER-195B18AF34\user
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Cmdline: /uninstwiz
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Old version: 2a5 (677)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 registry: Deleted registry: Software\Alwil Software\Avast\5.0\UpdateReady
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Using temp: C:\DOCUME~1\user\LOCALS~1\Temp\_asw_aisI.tm~a03924 (69390M free)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: SGW32AIS::CheckIfInstalled set m_bAlreadyInstalled to 1
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: DldSrc set to inet
06.11.2010 11:00:41 internet: SYNCER: Agent=Syncer/5.00 (ais-677;p)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Computer DnsName: user-195b18af34
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Computer Ip Addr: 192.168.10.101
06.11.2010 11:00:41 system: Installed in: C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5 (69390M free)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
06.11.2010 11:00:41 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
06.11.2010 11:00:41 package: Part prg_ais-2a5 is installed
06.11.2010 11:00:41 package: Part vps_win32-10110600 is installed
06.11.2010 11:00:41 package: Part setup_ais-2a5 is installed
06.11.2010 11:00:41 package: Part jrog-a7 is installed
06.11.2010 11:00:41 package: Part jrog2-88 is installed
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: LoadState: Edition=1
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Old version: 2a5 (677)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 file: SetExistingFilesBitmap: 479->90->90
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: GUID: 7c9e5b70-b403-42a2-9ee0-84760ee5543b
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: Server definition(s) loaded for 'main': 355 (maintenance:0)
06.11.2010 11:00:41 general: SelectCurrent: selected server 'Download954 AVAST5 Server' from 'main'
06.11.2010 11:00:41 internet: SYNCER: Type: use IE settings
06.11.2010 11:00:41 internet: SYNCER: Auth: another authentication, use WinInet
06.11.2010 11:00:45 general: Operation set to INST_OP_UNINSTALL
06.11.2010 11:00:45 general: Entered SetupProcessAIS::Do( INST_OP_UNINSTALL )
06.11.2010 11:00:45 general: Entered SetupProcessWin32Avast::Do( INST_OP_UNINSTALL )
06.11.2010 11:01:48 package: Transferred: files 0, bytes 0, time 0 ms
06.11.2010 11:01:48 package: Retries: total 0, files 0, servers 1
06.11.2010 11:01:48 general: szKey: 99999999-9999-9999-9999-999999999999
06.11.2010 11:01:53 internet: Sending stats 'http://74.86.232.36/cgi-bin/iavs4stats.cgi': 00000000 204
06.11.2010 11:01:53 file: NeedReboot=false
06.11.2010 11:01:53 general: Return code: 0x000004C7 [The operation was canceled by the user.]
06.11.2010 11:01:53 general: Stopped: 06.11.2010, 11:01:53
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-07-2010, 07:42 AM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,232
OS: Windows XP Pack 2



Something is wrong, I am not getting

Figure III. A here-

http://support.avast.com/index.php?l...barticleid=459

But get-

http://www.techsupportforum.com/atta...sion-avast.jpg


when I click "Register Now".

Anybody knows what is wrong?

Thanks.
__________________
zhong is offline  
Old 11-08-2010, 05:47 AM   #15
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



One last try is to scan your system with Avast.....go to "Scan Computer" and perform a quick scan and quaratine all infections that are found. Restart computer and see if Avast control panel (registration) will respond. If that fails, or you can't scan your system, you will need to have an Expert Security Analyst assist you with cleaning your machine. 30 days without updates to your AV has made you very vulnerable to malware and infections.

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f50/...lp-305963.html

Be patient.....the Security Team is very busy and you may not receive an answer right away. They will be aware of your request and get to you as soon as possible.....they are all volunteers and help people in their spare time.

Good luck!!
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 03:26 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
OS: xp



First let the older version expire and then register to download new version of Avast.
__________________
peterjhn is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 03:46 AM   #17
Administrator
TSF Manager
 
SABL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Galena, Ohio
Posts: 12,029
OS: WinXP Pro SP3, Vista Home Premium SP2



Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjhn View Post
First let the older version expire and then register to download new version of Avast.
Please note that (according to the screen capture) this is a new install and has never been registered. Avast has been installed to replace an expired AV.
__________________
It's a good thing I never had any sanity......I would have lost it by now.
SABL is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 08:34 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



Here's the quick and simple answer:

After you choose the "Or register free antivirus (base protection only)" then click "CONTINUE", press the ESCAPE key.

Ridiculous - but it works. Amazing that Avast has not fixed this as it's a very common issue!
__________________
IlanG is offline  
Old 04-23-2012, 10:15 AM   #19
Team Manager, Articles
Analyst
Rangemaster, TSF Academy
 
Glaswegian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 38,522
OS: Win XP Pro SP3 / Win 7 Pro

My System


Since this thread is 18 months old I see little point in posting further replies - now closed.

__________________
Iain - Defender of the Haggis and all things Scottish.
I don't help by PM - post in the Forums.



PC Safety & Security::PC running a bit slow?::Photographers Corner
Glaswegian is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts