Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

No active components in AVG

This is a discussion on No active components in AVG within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Title says it all, my AVG free has no active components. I have tried everything. - Restarting my computer -


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2009, 01:04 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 525
OS: Vista Home Prem. 64 bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to connor-53 Send a message via Skype™ to connor-53

Title says it all, my AVG free has no active components. I have tried everything.
- Restarting my computer
- Restarting AVG
- Re-Installing AVG

I have no clue what the problem can be!?!?!?! This is AVG Free 8.5 or whatever the newest one is. I can not update it, there is no connection to the server I can not delete and restore to previous version of pre-update. Help please!!

__________________
connor-53 is offline  
Old 03-17-2009, 07:20 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 525
OS: Vista Home Prem. 64 bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to connor-53 Send a message via Skype™ to connor-53

Anyone Help?

__________________
connor-53 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 02:15 PM   #3
Windows Tech Team
 
alpenadiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NorthEast, Michigan
Posts: 1,610
OS: Windows 7 Pro, Fedora-20. Work systems - W2K, XP, Win7, RHEL, Solaris.

My System


Is your firewall blocking AVG. Try disabling the firewall or any Internet Security software you maybe running, then restart AVG. Also what Operating System are you running.
__________________
alpenadiver is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 04:41 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 525
OS: Vista Home Prem. 64 bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to connor-53 Send a message via Skype™ to connor-53

Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenadiver View Post
Is your firewall blocking AVG. Try disabling the firewall or any Internet Security software you maybe running, then restart AVG. Also what Operating System are you running.
I have no firewall running right now, I have Xp Pro SP3
__________________
connor-53 is offline  
Old 03-18-2009, 07:46 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
AlphaWolf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 65
OS: Windows 7 Beta



When you re-installed AVG, did you uninstall it first or just install over AVG?
Try that first if you just re-installed over.

Also, there have been several issues with AVG as of late, if you continually have problems with AVG you might want to switch to something more stable. Anti-Virus programs like Avira and Avast! have been doing pretty well, though a little harder to find the options to set automatic scan/update for.

Warning, if you can't get AVG to completely uninstall though, do NOT try to install another Anti-Virus first. Problems can occur and you want to rid yourself completely of the old Anti-virus program before installing a new one.
__________________
AlphaWolf13 is offline  
Old 03-19-2009, 12:20 AM   #6
Security Team
Colleague
 
sjb007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln UK
Posts: 3,197
OS: Windows 8.1/Linux

My System


Try running the AVG removal tool and see if that helps in removing the corrupt antivirus.

AVG Removal tool:
32x Removal Tool
64x Removal Tool
__________________
St John Ambulance Volunteer - Advanced First Aider

sjb007 is offline  
Old 03-24-2009, 08:16 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 31
OS: Win7 Pro 64



Hit the same problem. Repeated attempts to update ended in failure. Tried un-installing and re-installing. Got part way through the install and it failed. Tried downloading update package, saving and then installing. No joy. Eventually it said I had a registry error. De-installed all AVG, cleaned up and then downloaded and installed AVAST (also free.)
I now have anti virus protection and no hassle.
__________________
wmiked is offline  
Old 05-08-2009, 09:26 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
OS: win xp sp3



Had the same issue today. Found out that the service sometimes switches off after a system update. Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services then scroll down to AVG8 Watch Dog then Start the Service.
__________________
geekay007 is offline  
Old 09-06-2009, 05:56 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
OS: Windows XP sp 2


Grin

Thank You!! This worked perfect for me!!
__________________
gkcmor is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 02:46 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
OS: xppro



Quote:
Originally Posted by geekay007 View Post
Had the same issue today. Found out that the service sometimes switches off after a system update. Go to Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services then scroll down to AVG8 Watch Dog then Start the Service.

THANK YOU! I'm running AVG 9 (paid) and this was the answer for me!
Went to "services" selected Watchdog, "start". Perfect! Thanks, again!
__________________
masstch is offline  
Old 12-20-2010, 09:04 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I have Windows XP on my computer and am having the same problems with AVG 2011, the licence was due to run out in several days and so I changed it (via the AVG program) to the Free version. It said there were "No active components". I’ve tried reinstalling the free version with my firewall on and off but it says I must uninstall the more advanced version first. Tried that but it comes up with Error code: 0xC0070643.

I've since manually turned on the WatchDog via Administrative Tools, but that only succeeded in activating the Update Manager and Link Scanner, none of the other scanners or shields. I then used the Removal Tool x32 linked by sjb007, this has removed the AVGIDSAgent but the AVGFirewall and AVGWatchDog remain, and the same ErrorCode comes up when I try and uninstall them.

Anymore ideas?
__________________
FridgeKey is offline  
Old 12-20-2010, 11:27 AM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
Deleted 080713's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London UK
Posts: 4,672
OS: Windows 7 SP1 x64



Have you tried using the AVG Remover first and then reinstalling?
http://www.avg.com/us-en/download-tools - Choose the appropriate version for your OS
__________________
Deleted 080713 is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 07:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
OS: XP



I have this same problem, computer is running XP. I can not uninstall AVG, it says it is not installed when the uninstaller runs, however it is installed. When I open the command center it says there are no active components, I can not update, scan, or anything. I have tried using the removal tool linked above but it did not appear to help at all.

When I try uninstalling through Add Remove programs it says this:

Severity:Error
Error Code: 0xE001D02B
Error Message: AVG Product not installed, uninstallation request ignored
Additional Message: AVG Installer - Product not installed, uninstallation request ignored
Context: Installation

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
slyceu is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 08:16 PM   #14
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,958
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



You may also use this tool to uninstall AVG:
http://www.appremover.com/appremover/avg/AppRemover.exe

Instructions:
http://www.appremover.com/about/using-appremover.html
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline  
Old 02-28-2011, 10:33 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
OS: xp2



I just purchased the license for 2011 AVG and am having the same problems as mentioned by other users of prior versions. I looked in Services and don't find any mention there of AVG or Watchdog. I've removed all AVG files used before and reloaded the software under directions from AVG tech support. Still I get the notice that I have no active components even though it shows the license is valid through 2013 (two-year license).
I emailed AVG but in the meantime I'm unprotected, since I cannot update or run scans.
__________________
bibliophile is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 04:11 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: xp


Thumbs Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by connor-53 View Post
Title says it all, my AVG free has no active components. I have tried everything.
- Restarting my computer
- Restarting AVG
- Re-Installing AVG

I have no clue what the problem can be!?!?!?! This is AVG Free 8.5 or whatever the newest one is. I can not update it, there is no connection to the server I can not delete and restore to previous version of pre-update. Help please!!
Hi,
described issue happens when main AVG service "AVG9 WatchDog" is not running. Please check its settings:
- open menu Start -> Run -> enter "services.msc" and confirm OK
- find mentioned service in the list and check its startup type - Automatic and if it is running.

Else check this post - Free Antivirus | Forum - How To Clean An Infected Computer?

Or check this:
- open registry editor (menu Start -> Run -> enter "regedit" and confirm OK)
- find this key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Avg9wd\Enum

- if exists record "INITSTARTFAILED", remove it
- restart computer and check situation again

Else please provide us with description of computer performance - CPU frequency, amount of RAM, ...

Thank you
__________________
maulcabral is offline  
Old 08-24-2011, 08:11 AM   #17
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,350
OS: Win7-64

My System


Thanks for posting, maulcabral. This thread is over 2 years old, so I'm guessing that connor-53 no longer needs any help with this problem.
__________________

watch?v=V4H5PFGr03Q
koala is offline  
Old 08-26-2011, 06:10 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
OS: xp


Thumbs Up

I figured, but when the next guy comes around looking for the same answer He will find it here.

Have a good one
__________________
maulcabral is offline  
Old 10-14-2011, 01:17 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
OS: win7/sp1-32bit



Ok, here is the next guy: slidely different scenario I guess.
Running AVG11 on Win7/SP1-32bit.
Virus database version is 1522/3950.

This morning I got the message "There are no active components" when I tried to run an update. The service AVGWatchDog is running. The reg key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Avgwd\Enum doesn't exist,.

A restart solved the issue. My question: is there any recommendation to fasten the seat belts on AVG WatchDog in version 11?

thx
__________________
jmc64 is offline  
Old 07-31-2013, 11:28 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
OS: vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by connor-53 View Post
Anyone Help?
AVG 2013 Vista easily solved the "No active components in AVG" problem via simple actions: Control panel --> Programs and feathures --> right click on AVG --> Change (Not Uninstall!!!) --> Repair.
After computer restart everything works perfectly!

__________________
Simple2013 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts