Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Can you delete quarantined viruses from the antivirus software’s graphic interface?

This is a discussion on Can you delete quarantined viruses from the antivirus software’s graphic interface? within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I just switched to BitDefender and I am still sorting things out. I had quarantined viruses and I


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-20-2007, 12:54 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 153
OS: Windows XP



Hello all, I just switched to BitDefender and I am still sorting things out. I had quarantined viruses and I went down the list and clicked them all while holding Ctrl and then hit delete. I thought it was just going to remove the text description of the virus from the graphic interface but now it says the quarantine file is 0.0 MB. So now I am thinking oh shoot, where did they go? Did I mess things up? I know this is a dumb question, thanks in advance.

__________________
Martingale00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2007, 02:44 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
OS: windows, linux


Quote:
Originally Posted by Martingale00 View Post
Hello all, I just switched to BitDefender and I am still sorting things out. I had quarantined viruses and I went down the list and clicked them all while holding Ctrl and then hit delete. I thought it was just going to remove the text description of the virus from the graphic interface but now it says the quarantine file is 0.0 MB. So now I am thinking oh shoot, where did they go? Did I mess things up? I know this is a dumb question, thanks in advance.
ok if you have done that then you have deleted the virus from the quaritine vault! because if before u had for e.g 16mb of virus and press control then now you hae 0 then they have been deleted!! (I RECKONMEND SYMANTEC ITS VERY GOOD I HAVE IT) i have had more than 200 virus on my bros computer then when we did scan with avg(bad) it dected but could not delete so we put symantic witht the special settings and all of the virus GONE!!!!.

__________________
Linux Ownz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2007, 06:02 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
dorts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,599
OS: Windows XP SP2

My System

I think you have deleted the viruses permanently from the quarantine. What's wrong with deleting viruses from quarantine? I think you did nothing wrong.
__________________

dorts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 01:10 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
OS: windows, linux


Quote:
Originally Posted by dorts View Post
I think you have deleted the viruses permanently from the quarantine. What's wrong with deleting viruses from quarantine? I think you did nothing wrong.
I AGREE WITH U!!!
__________________
Linux Ownz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2007, 04:08 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 153
OS: Windows XP


Thanks for the input everyone! The reason I thought I screwed up because I thought if you disinfect a virus it can be permanently deleted but if it's quarantined it would be isolated from your system to prevent harm but still exist harmlessly in quarantine. When the quarantine folder said 0.0MB I thought I might have restored them. So what's the difference between disinfection and quarantine if you can simply delete the virus from quarantine, why doesn't the antivirus program just delete it automatically when disinfection fails?
__________________
Martingale00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2007, 04:13 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 19
OS: windows, linux


Quote:
Originally Posted by Martingale00 View Post
Thanks for the input everyone! The reason I thought I screwed up because I thought if you disinfect a virus it can be permanently deleted but if it's quarantined it would be isolated from your system to prevent harm but still exist harmlessly in quarantine. When the quarantine folder said 0.0MB I thought I might have restored them. So what's the difference between disinfection and quarantine if you can simply delete the virus from quarantine, why doesn't the antivirus program just delete it automatically when disinfection fails?
The reason because it dose not delete is because you have to put a setting in your antivirus so each time it finds something it will auto delete!
__________________
Linux Ownz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 01:18 AM   #7
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US-UK
Posts: 5,650
OS: Too Many


I reckon its a good feature actually There was once a time when I looked specifically for this...

__________________
Kalim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts