Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

AVG 2011 Update Reboot Pop-Up

This is a discussion on AVG 2011 Update Reboot Pop-Up within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have AVG 2011 and I didn't seem to have a problem until this morning. There's a pop-up that tells


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2010, 06:46 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



I have AVG 2011 and I didn't seem to have a problem until this morning. There's a pop-up that tells me I have to reboot to complete the update. So I rebooted. Computer loads, and again the same pop-up. I rebooted again, and again the same pop-up. I don't know how to get rid of it.

Also, if I click on Update Now on the AVG icon manually, the pop-up appears, and down above the AVG icon is the message 'The update needs restart (anti-virus definitions are still possible.)'

Can anyone help please? This pop-up can only be postponed for 60 minutes.

Thanks.

__________________
Wyldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:04 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Vampy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 141
OS: XP / 7

My System


Hi Wyldfox,

Have you tried doing a system restore to before you started getting this problem?

__________________
Vampy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:23 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Interesting.....I just went to system restore to try that, and it is turned on, but there is nothing to restore to. It's asking if I want to set a restore point now. Wonder where my restore points went. :(
__________________
Wyldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 07:50 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Vampy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 141
OS: XP / 7

My System


Have a look here about your restore points http://support.microsoft.com/kb/301224

Have you got the Premium version of AVG 2011? If not I may suggest a re-install using the most up-to-date install file.

If you're using the free version in my opinion Avast! Antivirus & Malwarebytes are better than AVG.

You can get these both from http://www.filehippo.com/
__________________
Vampy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:17 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



I'll check out that link about restore points. I just used RevUninstaller, and it sets a system restore point each time before it runs, yet it doesn't show as anything I can restore to.

I've always used Malwarebytes, and I'm scanning with it now. I've tried Avast! in the past, and always had problems, with XP, Vista, and I'm not sure if I tried it with Win 7, so maybe I'll give it another try.

Thanks again. Now to straighten out my restore.
__________________
Wyldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:39 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



The restore point info wasn't for Win 7. In any case, none of those things applied except maybe the clean disk.

Just downloaded Avast!, and I'll delete AVG as soon as Malwarebytes finishes running.

Thanks so much for your help.
__________________
Wyldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 08:48 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Vampy99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sheffield, England
Posts: 141
OS: XP / 7

My System


Glad to help.
__________________
Vampy99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 11:19 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 11
OS: Windows 7



Malwarebytes found nothing. I uninstalled AVG, and reinstalled, and that pop-up stopped. The free Avast! doesn't seem to offer as much as AVG. I use so many different programs, AVG, Malwarebytes, Spybot, SuperAntiSpyware, etc. I think I'm bordering on anal when it comes to protection. :)
__________________
Wyldfox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2010, 12:07 PM   #9
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,976
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Quote:
I uninstalled AVG, and reinstalled, and that pop-up stopped.
Thanks for letting us know. That's the most common solution given at the AVG forums for that issue.

__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts