Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Avast and Ad Aware

This is a discussion on Avast and Ad Aware within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. is it ok to run avast! and ad aware free versions together?


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-08-2010, 09:12 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 7



is it ok to run avast! and ad aware free versions together?

__________________
corerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:53 AM   #2
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,040
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Seems the newer versions of Ad-Aware include an Antivirus engine, so I'd say no.

http://www.lavasoft.com/products/ad_...php?t=features

The folks at the avast! forum seem to agree

http://forum.avast.com/index.php?topic=61604.0

But...at the Lavasoft forum, I see there may be an option to disable the AntiVirus feature of the new Ad-Aware

http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index...howtopic=29710

Or, that it may detect an antivirus already installed, and disable it's Ad-Watch Live file monitoring on it's own.

http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index...dpost&p=120868


It's best to ask application specific questions at those applications' support forums.

__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 11:20 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 7



great! will do! thanks for your help again :)
__________________
corerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 11:21 AM   #4
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,040
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



You're welcome.

If you test it out, or get more concrete answers from the folks at Lavasoft or avast!, let us know.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 11:59 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 7



well, when I was running both my Internet connection would hickup or stall sometimes and I could not find why. I removed ad aware and no more hickups, hmmmm....
__________________
corerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 12:51 PM   #6
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,040
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Seems you've found an answer there. What version of Ad-Aware, and do you know if the Antivirus portion was disabled if it was present?

Not all apps play well together, so it can be trial and error sometimes.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 01:00 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 121
OS: Windows 7



Ad aware 8.3, the anti virus was running.
__________________
corerat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 01:10 PM   #8
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,040
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



That might explain it then. If you feel like experimenting still, try installing it again, but find the setting to disable the antivirus. Me, I'd leave well enough alone. Stick with avast! and use Mbam for your anti-malware scans.

__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts