Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Auto-Protect in Norton won't turn on!

This is a discussion on Auto-Protect in Norton won't turn on! within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi I am so frustrated with my Norton 2009 product because this has happened to me before. I don't know


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-13-2009, 06:49 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: windows vista



Hi

I am so frustrated with my Norton 2009 product because this has happened to me before. I don't know very much about computers. The thing is, there is a Symantic Support window (some kind of Norton logmein help) that pops up every time I log into my laptop and I was getting annoyed. So, I tried to uninstall it and then redownload it. However, after redownloading it, the Auto-Protect kept staying off and it won't turn on. I went into Settings and clicked "on" but it stays off. I called Norton help and they say there is a virus on my computer and will charge me $99.99 to help me fix it. That is so expensive!! I don't even know for sure if there is a virus because I didn't get any infection notices on my laptop or anything. If anything could help me figure out a way to turn and keep my auto-protect on, I would be so relieved.

__________________
wendywu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 09:58 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,401
OS: Win7-64

My System


Hi, welcome to TSF

When you contacted Norton, did you give them remote access to your computer to run some tests, or did you post them any log files, or are they just guessing that the computer is infected?

We have a Norton representative who sometimes posts on this forum. Hopefully, he'll see this thread and save you $100.

__________________
koala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 11:23 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 2
OS: windows vista



I gave them remote access to my computer and the Norton person said my computer was infected because Norton couldn't be properly installed. However, from my point of view, the Norton was installed except for the auto protect problem. The only reason why I feel like there might be no virus is because I've had this exact auto-protect problem a year ago and a Norton assistant had helped me fix it.
__________________
wendywu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:08 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 204
OS: Win 7 Enterprise



Quote:
Originally Posted by wendywu View Post
Hi

I am so frustrated with my Norton 2009 product because this has happened to me before. I don't know very much about computers. The thing is, there is a Symantic Support window (some kind of Norton logmein help) that pops up every time I log into my laptop and I was getting annoyed. So, I tried to uninstall it and then redownload it. However, after redownloading it, the Auto-Protect kept staying off and it won't turn on. I went into Settings and clicked "on" but it stays off. I called Norton help and they say there is a virus on my computer and will charge me $99.99 to help me fix it. That is so expensive!! I don't even know for sure if there is a virus because I didn't get any infection notices on my laptop or anything. If anything could help me figure out a way to turn and keep my auto-protect on, I would be so relieved.
Hi wendywu,

This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team.

Please tell me which 2009 Norton product you have installed, as well as the error message you are receiving regarding Auto-Protect. Also, are you using Windows XP or Windows Vista?

Thank you,
Mike
__________________
Michael York is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 12:40 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista



Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael York View Post
Hi wendywu,

This is Mike from the Norton Authorized Support Team.

Please tell me which 2009 Norton product you have installed, as well as the error message you are receiving regarding Auto-Protect. Also, are you using Windows XP or Windows Vista?

Thank you,
Mike
Ok...problem is back - but a bit different. Now it doesn't run a full liveupdate - it says not everything installed...and won't look for updated definitions.

Any suggestions?
__________________
shellab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 01:19 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 316
OS: Windows XP SP3, Windows 7

My System


I'm sorry to intrude here, but shellab, I believe you have accidentally posted on wendywu's thread of the same name?
__________________
Baejung92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2009, 06:41 PM   #7
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,008
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



I split/copied shellab's posts to his own topic

http://www.techsupportforum.com/f112...ab-409183.html

shellab, please stick with that one. It's generally best to create your own topic, even though issues may seem the same or nearly the same.

__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts