Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Agent.exe....is it a virus ?

This is a discussion on Agent.exe....is it a virus ? within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello, I'm pulling my hairs out, task manager shows agent.exe consuming 40%+ of cpu usage, there is little on the


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2007, 01:00 AM   #1
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,394
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System


Hello, I'm pulling my hairs out, task manager shows agent.exe consuming 40%+ of cpu usage, there is little on the internet about it, I run Avast, spybot, Adaware and Zonealarm, (all religiously updated and run atleast once a week) so I'm surprised to get infected. Does anyone know how to get rid of it ? TIA Twajetmech

twajetmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 03:09 AM   #2
Resident Pirate
 
Jack.Sparrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Qld, Aus
Posts: 17,863
OS: XP SP3/Vista SP1

My System


Hey Twajetmech,

Agent.exe isn't a virus, it's Acronis True Image Agent.

Dell also has a process with the same name, which is a user interface to the monitor.

Jack.Sparrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 11:04 AM   #3
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,055
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



There are several processes using that same file name. Most are legit, as Jack.Sparrow has indicated. Acronis, Avira, Dell, InstallShield, Cyberlink among others.

Some are not legit.

Determine the location of the file to help determine it's legitimacy and what program is running it. Check the file's properties.

Using Process Explorer rather than Task Manager can easily help with this, as there is a path to process function which the Task Manager does not have.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 01:55 PM   #4
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,394
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System


Thank you both I will look into it and post back what I find.....I don't use any of the mentioned software so I think this one is going to be malware
twajetmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:38 PM   #5
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,055
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Ok, let us know.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:47 PM   #6
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,394
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System


Path: C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\agent.exe
CMD Line: C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\INSTAL~1\UPDATE~1\agent.exe -Embedding
Dir: C:\WINDOWS\system32\
twajetmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:48 PM   #7
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,055
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



InstallShield.

My guess is that you have some autoupdate feature sucking CPU time.

There would be some O4 entries in a HJT log. Fix them, and it should stop.

<edit> if you want, I'll look at a log for you.</edit>
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:53 PM   #8
I helped the forums.
 
twajetmech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: LGA, NYC
Posts: 2,394
OS: XP-Pro Sp2 & XP-Pro Sp2 Tablet Edition, Vista Ultimate, Win 7

My System


Thank you, I'll take a look and post back if I need more help, I was able to suspend the app with the process explorer....nice to give the cpu some rest, I think I will also write macrovision and give them a piece of my mind.
twajetmech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2007, 02:55 PM   #9
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 50,055
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64



Cheers. Glad to have helped.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2008, 09:19 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP



I recently installed Dragon Naturally Speaking version 9. After that my computer slowed down considerably. My Task Manager showed that I had Agent.exe using considerable CPU time.

As I understand it Dragon uses this for updating voice files. The updates are very infrequent. I disabled it and everything appears to be working fine again.

On the Dragon bar go to "Naturally speaking" and select close user. The go to tools and select administrative. Deselect automatic updates and close the program and restart your computer.

I don't know if this applies to you but if it does hope it helps.

__________________
Lowtech ZZZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts