Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Security Center > General Computer Security

Adaware SE

This is a discussion on Adaware SE within the General Computer Security forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Installed Adaware SE today, it keeps popping up that my definitions are 15 days old, go to check and it


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-04-2006, 03:48 PM   #1
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Installed Adaware SE today, it keeps popping up that my definitions are 15 days old, go to check and it says there is none to install, is there a glitch in the last update that anyone knows about?

__________________
Geekgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 03:50 PM   #2
TSF Security Team - Rest in Peace
 
SpySentinel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: The United States
Posts: 379
OS: Windows XP SP2


I get the same thing. I also get that my definition files are corrupt, they say it is a glitch in the Authentication program

__________________
SpySentinel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 04:40 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


I hate to give a computer back to a customer and have a program error on them

Thanks for replying
__________________
Geekgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 08:49 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
fredmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phila,Pa
Posts: 2,335
OS: XP


I installed defs at 20 days old and closed the program.

Opened up and gave me the same 15 day message and none available.
__________________
fredmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2006, 09:36 PM   #5
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,950
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64


http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showtopic=3732

Sept19 updates are the latest:

http://www.lavasoftsupport.com/index.php?showforum=65

Just cancel that pop when it opens. Until they actually do update....
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 03:30 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Thanks Bob
__________________
Geekgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2006, 05:11 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
adamferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Soperton, Georgia
Posts: 17
OS: Windows XP Home Edition SP2


Quote:
Originally Posted by Geekgirl View Post
Installed Adaware SE today, it keeps popping up that my definitions are 15 days old, go to check and it says there is none to install, is there a glitch in the last update that anyone knows about?
i have had that happen alot lately. i just uninstalled it.
__________________
adamferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 06:16 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 764
OS: XP sp3 Chrome


There was an update today!
__________________
wally246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 07:56 PM   #9
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,950
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64


Quote:
Originally Posted by adamferguson View Post
i have had that happen alot lately. i just uninstalled it.
Adaware only updates their defs when it deems them necessary. Apparently, they were satisfied until today with their previous definitions, which were from 19Sept06.

No real reason to have uninstalled an excellent free program.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wally246 View Post
There was an update today!
Thanks!
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:13 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
adamferguson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Soperton, Georgia
Posts: 17
OS: Windows XP Home Edition SP2


i reinstalled it today and it found a update it works fine now
__________________
adamferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2006, 10:33 PM   #11
Human Individual
 
Ariesjill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 2,837
OS: WXP Home, WXP Pro


I was getting same warning on both desktop & lappy, plus, when there ARE updates 2 defs database, U can sometimes now NOT access those using the "your defs are pathetic, wut up wit U?" warning. But if you x out the warning box and use the globe update icon on their interface, you get real deal info......BUT, CAN SOMETIMES NOT DOWNLOAD THE NEW DEFS FILE IMMEDIATELY AND NEED TO WAIT A WHILE.

So, I, for one....was only able to update both systems re Ad-Aware today. but this has happened before, and I don't think it's because something is corrupted...but U nevah know.

My take is their server is overloaded, and unlike say Spybot, their interface doesn't offer alternatives......except re Spybot, heads up; some of the alternative European sites try to download evil thingies....and only my new Trend Micro, actively running, picks those up immediately, presents their window listing and then you can PRECLUDE THEM. Also, 4 whatevah it's worth, since getting the Trend Micro....while I keep my other utilities up 2 date, I almost never run them.....because the former picks up more than anything I have ever tried or bought.

How confusing was this post? Hope not AT ALL

Jill!
__________________
Ariesjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 04:43 AM   #12
Team Manager
Articles Team
 
chauffeur2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 11,264
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium SP1

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to chauffeur2
As a matter of interest to all,

Lavasoft, the makers of Adaware SE, have said that they have been having major server problems,[ direct email to me from them], but all seems to be fixed now.
[as at Saturday 7 October 1500 hrs in Adelaide, South Australia].

You all might have to try a couple of times to get it to download, but the latest definitions are 6 October 2006, and I finally got them today.

Just thought that I'd pass this on.
__________________
Dave T.



If it works, Don't fix it!
Especially if Microsoft made it!
chauffeur2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:32 AM   #13
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Yes, it does seem to be updating. I expected more phone calls from customers asking what was wrong with the program, thankfully they got it sorted in a timely manner
__________________
Geekgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 01:42 PM   #14
Human Individual
 
Ariesjill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 2,837
OS: WXP Home, WXP Pro


Chauffer2/Dave:

Thanks so much for your email to Lavasoft! Always amazsing 2 have instincts confirmed and put an end to floundering!
Jill

Geekgirl:
I C there is THERAPIST component in being a techie, right? Amazing.
Huge gift to know we are not alone in these inevitable glitches.....forget getting clear. Whole world should work like this site, right?

Jill
__________________
Ariesjill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 11:07 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2


Hi Geekgirl, and everyone else. In the future, it is easy to solve this problem (not really a "problem", so much as an administrative fault). What happened is there have been no definition updates for 15 or 16 days, so the default warning period (I believe it is 15 days) is being tripped. That, combined with the server problem, was causing a deadly duo! To take care of this in the future, if there is a long period before updates again, do one of the following:

1 - Open Ad-Aware
2 - Click on the icon at the top right that looks like a cog, or gear (fourth from right) to open the configuration window.
3 - Under "Definitions", uncheck "Prompt to update outdated definitions".
4 - Or if you do not want to disable the prompt, change the number of days listed in the window for "Consider definitions outdated after 15 days", to a higher number. I made mine 30.
5 - Click "Proceed" to save the new settings.
I hope this helps, and good luck.
__________________
BBF2530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 09:04 AM   #16
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Great suggestion, I will keep this in mind.
__________________
Geekgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 11:53 AM   #17
Management Team, Security Center & TSF Academy
Expert Analyst, Moderator, Security Team
Rangemaster, Moderator, TSF Academy
 
tetonbob's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Transylvania County, North Carolina, USA
Posts: 49,950
OS: XP Pro; XP Home; Win7 x86 & x64


Cheers, BBF2530!

Thanks.
__________________
Practice Safe Surfing
Because what you don't know, CAN hurt you.
Proud Member of UNITE since 2006

tetonbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 12:07 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2


You're very welcome!

__________________
BBF2530 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts