Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

Scanner Problem Fuji Xerox M205b

This is a discussion on Scanner Problem Fuji Xerox M205b within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The Fuji Xerox DocuPrint M205b solved all scanning problems for me. I don't have to connect it to a PC


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-07-2012, 10:45 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium


Question

The Fuji Xerox DocuPrint M205b solved all scanning problems for me. I don't have to connect it to a PC or Laptop. I can simply scan directly into a USB Thumbdrive - even multiple pages into one PDF file - just what I need. It has a built-in Express Scan Manager.

But there is one problem. The Control Panel on this All-in-One does not have a "Clock Setting" feature. As a result, when switched on, it registers a random date and time (in my case the date shows as 24 April 2009, although I bought the machine in November 2011. So all scanned docs show the Created Date as April 2009. I tried Justanswer.com - One specialist said he can solve it if I am willing to pay for the solution. But this is a Printer in-built problem, not a singular problem that I have faced. I have asked Fuji Xerox to help and they are working on it. Meanwhile if this is a solved problem, it will be good.

__________________
kab303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 01:37 AM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
oscer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 10,582
OS: windows 7

My System


have you tried a firmware update? Fuji Xerox Printers : Downloads

__________________

Mark thread solved under thread tools when issue has been resolved.
oscer1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hi Oscer1. Thanks for pointing this out. No I haven't done that. Since the machine just over a month old, I thought the firmware in the machine is possibly the latest. But I will do this and see.
__________________
kab303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 07:58 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



check the manual for time and date setting nothing shows up on a search

it may need to be connected to a computer to take the date and time setting from there
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 11:06 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hi Dai, Vendor of the machine is now aware that by some error this particular model M205b does not have the "Clock Setting" in the machine itself. I asked them if I should do a Firmware update and they asked me to hold on. To answer your question - The manual details out the "Clock Setting" use. But there is no "Clock Setting" available. When I connect to my Laptop and scan the Create date is taken from the Laptop. But when I scan to USB Thumb drive plugged into the scanner itself, the date taken is from the scanner - the wrong date.
__________________
kab303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 11:17 PM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



does a firmware update list adding clock settings or do you have to wait to see if they will maybe issue one
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 08:14 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Hi Dai,
There is no firmware update adding Clock settings. In fact am not even able to make out if the Firmware update showing in the FX website is older or newer than the one existing in my machine. Even so I tried to install the available Firmware update, but it does not show any file to select and run. So, nothing happened. Only thing to do, seems to be to wait for Fuji Xerox to revert and tell me if they can or cannot solve this problem. I have called and asked a couple of times, they said they are working on it.
__________________
kab303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 05:47 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



cannot find anything looks like you will have to wait on them
__________________
dai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 04:48 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Singapore
Posts: 18
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium



Yes, confirmed I have to wait. Based on the points you have given, I spoke to them at length. There is no firmware update yet for this model M205b.

Meanwhile I can scan from Scanner to USB attached to my PC/Laptop. No problem with Date/Clock (since it takes the PC/Laptop date). Only disadvantage this way is, it scans & saves into single page file only. So, Later I have to use Primo PDF to combine the files that have multiple pages. There's always a workable solution....

__________________
kab303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
epson scanner sx100 problem in scanning to flash drive
I have the above scanner and up to now no problem in scanning my documents to my flash drive. I can scan to my documents though but will not let me copy to my flash drive. Pop up says "I do not have sufficient access privileges .... please select another folder" Can anyone help me to...
alanhelp Windows XP Support 1 06-04-2011 11:19 AM
scanner problem
I almost always make use of my scanner via "Import" with Photoshop CS3. I have not encountered a problem until now, and for no apparent reason. I do, rarely scan directly from the scanner program as well. Scanner is Microtek ScanMaker i900. I'm running Vista Home Premium 64 bit. Attached are the...
jjonsalt Printer Support 4 03-23-2011 04:35 AM
Halo 2 Won't install i hate it...
Hey, I just bought halo 2 at the store and i tought hmm fun game but then when i wanted to install the game it says Microsoft directx has stopped working and then i can't install the game... because i need to close the installation. I already have DX. 11 And got HD Readen 4770, AMD...
Takehofstra Game Installation Support 1 02-26-2011 07:39 PM
scanner problem
i have a windows xp sp2 cpu and i connected the hp scnjet 4850 scanner and it is working properly. i am updating the sp3 in the process my system got shutdown and os is not booting and i tried with min xp and restore the registry wizard and my system is booting properly if i connected my scanner...
malleswararao Other Hardware Support 1 01-21-2011 05:23 AM
Xerox Workcentre 5665 PDF printing problem - legal document came out as letter size
Hello folks, I have one worker at my workplace who uses Adobe Reader X on a Windows XP system. Let's say a worker has opened up a PDF file that is formatted on a legal size document. She then does the usual printer selection on the print window of the program. She selects one of the printers...
simon726 Printer Support 0 01-13-2011 03:06 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts