Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

HP Photosmart C4280 "USB Not Connected"

This is a discussion on HP Photosmart C4280 "USB Not Connected" within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am new to using a Mac and HP printer. I tried to scan a document into the computer but

Closed Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 12:39 PM   #1
Registered Member

I am new to using a Mac and HP printer. I tried to scan a document into the computer but it keeps telling me USB Not Connected. Am I missing a cable, am I doing something wrong, or is there something wrong with my computer/printer? (Please, if you know how to fix this I need very detailed and specific instructions )

Old 04-09-2008, 12:52 PM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Hi rufio90 Welcome to TSF
Have you tried a differnt USB cable?

Old 04-09-2008, 01:27 PM   #3
Registered Member

No. . . I assumed it would work fine, considering I bought it brand new. I don't have another USB cable to try.
Old 04-10-2008, 07:58 AM   #4
Registered Member

Any help?
Old 04-10-2008, 08:23 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast

Make sure the USB cable is plugged in all the way on the printer.
Old 04-10-2008, 11:06 AM   #6
Registered Member

Hp Photosmart C4385 will not work wirless with vitas home prem any help
Old 04-10-2008, 01:26 PM   #7
Registered Member

The cable is not loose, it won't go on any further. I can make a copy and print, but I cannot scan an item to my computer. I am not working with wireless or vitas (I don't think).
Old 04-17-2008, 05:01 AM   #8
Registered Member

I am suffering the exact problems. USB cable works fine for printing, however when trying to scan on this particular HP printer, says USB NOT CONNECTED.

Well it is and works in other capacities. So, problem is most likely with software AND Mac OS as the first complaint is also a Mac.

Any Mac-ies out there with a fix??

Thanks from beautiful, dusty Iraq.

Mike
Old 04-23-2008, 08:27 PM   #9
Registered Member

I got the solution!!!