Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

Flashing print cartridge in Canon MP530

This is a discussion on Flashing print cartridge in Canon MP530 within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello! I'm an artist and AutoCAD draftsperson. I'm not very experienced with computers but I can manage. I recently purchased

Closed Thread

Old 06-13-2007, 03:42 AM   #1
Registered Member

Hello!

I'm an artist and AutoCAD draftsperson. I'm not very experienced with computers but I can manage. I recently purchased a Canon MP530 all-in-one and had occasion to replace the main black ink cartridge. I took it in to get the cartridge refilled (perhaps this was a grave error) and when I got the cartridge home, I inserted it correctly but it started flashing and the level reads as virtually empty, and yet it prints fine. I have read my manual and looked at the website but either I missed this symptom or it wasn't there. I did google the problem and found out that Canon cartridges have a chip that prevents you from filling the cartridge or using generic cartridges. Is there a way I can get around this problem? I just bought a lot of bulk ink and don't really want to return it. Pls adv.

Beauxart

Old 06-13-2007, 04:01 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

My System

When you refill one of these cartridges they will show as empty unless the chip is reset to full.Some cartridge chips can be reset but i think these can't

Old 06-13-2007, 03:26 PM   #3
Registered Member

Hi Kodi,

I just got off the phone with some ink refill people and here is how you can get around the flashing cartridge problem. Turn your printer on. On your computer, go to -

Start
Settings
Printers and Faxes
right click on your printer icon
click on "Printing Preferences"
in the dialog box, click on "Maintenance"
click on "View Printer Status"
in the dialog box, click on "Options"
then deselect the "Enable Status Monitor" option