Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

Canon Pixma iP4850 paper source problem

This is a discussion on Canon Pixma iP4850 paper source problem within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My new Canon Pixma iP4850 seems to be incapable of printing from any paper source except the rear tray. The


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2011, 04:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP Pro Sp3



My new Canon Pixma iP4850 seems to be incapable of printing from any paper source except the rear tray.

The "manual" (such as it is) says that photo quality paper has to go in the rear tray, and plain paper has to go in the cassette, and that the printer adjusts its ink flow automatically on that basis (no user control over that being available or possible).

OK. As most of my printing is correspondence, most of my paper needs to come from the cassette, in which I have loaded plain paper.

In the printer driver dialogue I have set the paper source as "cassette".
In Ms Word it doesn't seem to make any difference whether I set "printer settings" or "cassette" as the paper source; regardless of what I tell it to do, the printer ALWAYS tries to print from the rear tray, and if it's empty it tells me to load it with plain paper (this despite the manual's insistance that the rear tray is for photo paper only!).

How can I force the printer to use the cassette? And how can I make the cassette its default paper source?

Very grateful thanks for any help. I have tried all options short of suicide.

Ian

__________________
Ian H.Thain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 06:14 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP Pro Sp3



I have just found the answer to my own question!

To ensure that the iP4850 prints from the cassette tray:-

In the printer driver which appears when you select Print, under


Properties | Quick setup tab | Check that "cassette" is specified in Paper Source
Properties | Main tab | Check that "cassette" is specified in Paper Source
Properties | Page setup tab | Print Options button | Check that the "Disable the paper source setting of the application source software" box is checked.

Regardless of the fact that you have selected "cassette" as the paper source in the application software (e.g. Ms Word), you need to disable it.



Either Word sends the wrong codes to the printer, or the printer scrambles the codes it receives. But whichever of the two it is, the printer then ignores the cassette and gets (or tries to get) its paper from the rear tray.

Disabling the application's ability to control the printer seems to fix the problem.

Hope this may help somebody else!

Ian

__________________
Ian H.Thain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:16 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
OS: W7


Laugh

Had very same problem with Canon Pixma MP640.

Your solution helped me fix the problem. Seems it came from MS Word 2010.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH, I was despaired!

Jérôme

__________________
jserre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2011, 03:27 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
OS: win7



I have a Canon Pixma MP160 and the paper in the printer keeps jamming, I may just get a new printer model or switch brands cause its really annoying :(
__________________
colm21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 05:55 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 3
OS: XP Pro Sp3



It's difficult to offer much in the way of a suggestion without seeing closely what's going on. Is the paper veering sideways as it goes through the printer? Have you tried different thicknesses and sizes of paper? (Surface finish can sometimes make a difference). Does it always stick at the same point during a print? Is there perhaps a conflict between the size of paper your are actually using, and the size of paper the software thinks you are using? Is something somewhere generating a signal which tells the print driver to abort a print job? Is a cover-open microswitch going intermittent? For that matter, are all your cables, plugs and sockets in good condition? A loose connector somewhere can have you pulling your hair out. Is there an accumulation of paper dust obscuring a photo cell's light path? Just a few ideas (and it's probably none of them)!
__________________
Ian H.Thain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2011, 10:25 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
OS: XP SP3



Many thanks for posting this. My parents were experiencing the same problem on a Windows 7 x64 computer on Word 2007. Your fix worked, but I have also e-mailed Canon support about it as we shouldn't need to do that to get it to work.

Something a bit glitchy is happening there and as much as I know that Microsoft Software can be buggy, I think this is more likely to be a driver issue.

Strangely, printing from notepad to the cassette worked straight away...
__________________
Rimmer100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2011, 11:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Win XP Service Pack 3



It isn't just Word that has the cassette loading problem. It's all Microsoft apps. Apparently, Canon's QA dept. is staffed by nitwits who don't test their products against those apps. Maybe it's something to do with Japan. I had a similar problem with a Brother MFC.
__________________
zootsuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 08:32 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows Vista SP2



Thank you Ian for pointing out the solution to this problem (I have a pixma 640 too).
Just a small correction: When you have done no. 3 (Disabling the paper source setting of the application), you don't have to do no. 1 and 2. Setting the paper source to "Automatically select" (the default) is OK.

Btw. The problem only occurs with MS Office it seems. When I print the same document(s) in openOffice or LibreOffice there is no problem.

__________________
jcpedersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System performance is virtually standstill
Thanks for your help here. I'm afraid I'm a bit of a novice here but I think I've followed the forum instructions with the scans and detail in this e-mail. Alsi I don't have an installation disk or a Boot CD. The system performance is excessively slow on all applications whether opening excel...
roybrfc Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 25 02-22-2011 03:05 PM
Canon Pixma 1000 Paper Size
Hello, I have a Pixma 1000 (Win XPsp3). This morning, I printed a 5x4 photo on it. No problem. I then tried to print an email but it has not reset the paper size to A4. That is, it tells me it's printing to A4, but its print area is 5x4. Any suggestions? Thanks CTB
chesterthebear Printer Support 1 02-09-2011 07:57 AM
Plug and Play Causes Services to run 100%
About i week ago I booted my computer and noticed that it was running extremly slow. I opened task manager and found that services.exe was running up my CPU. After going through msconfig and using trial and error, i found that it wouldn't drive it up if i had Plug and Play unchecked. So my...
logicalman Resolved HJT Threads 46 02-09-2011 04:51 AM
DirectX Error [moved from Vista/7]
I've been told to run dxdiag, but when I do it says Error: Could not load dxdiagn.dll I've also downloaded DirectX End-User Runtime Web Installer. However, when I attempt to install direct x, this appears: An internal system error occured. Please refer to DXerror.log and DirectX.log in...
eiliant BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 1 02-07-2011 01:29 AM
IE cannot display the webpage - occurs only with Windows Update
Hello, I had (or have, as Geekgirl suggested when directing me to this forum) a virus. It started when a scanner popped up and kindly offered to find and delete viruses on my computer. I was certain it was a virus itself, but I could not stop it without doing a hard shutdown, not to mention...
misha.spisok Resolved HJT Threads 27 01-10-2011 11:47 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:39 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts