Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Printer Support

Canon MP640 - B200 Error # B200

This is a discussion on Canon MP640 - B200 Error # B200 within the Printer Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, I am getting an error messege on my Canon Pixma MP640 Printer. Error B200. I was printing fine with


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2012, 04:45 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1
OS: WinXP



Hi, I am getting an error messege on my Canon Pixma MP640 Printer. Error B200. I was printing fine with it and the next document that I wanted to print gave me that error messege. All of my ink cartridges are brand new Cannon CLI 220 and CLI 221. I replaced the inkcartridges when it said that they were running low, but they were not empty. I just spent almost $100.00 in ink cartridges only to have this happen. I tried unplugging it and leaving it unplugged for a whole day and still getting same errror messege. Also have checked to make sure that all of the cartridges were installed properly.
I contacted Canon and of course as usual they tell you to send it to your nearest service facility. The nearest service facility to me is like 500 miles away and would probably cost another $50.00 for shipping and handling.
I do not have a warranty left on this printer and it is only 1-1/2 year old.
Wondering if it is possible that it could be the printhead.

__________________
Brooklyn2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2012, 08:32 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



Error B200 - It is indeed the printhead that needs replacing - an easy DIY job since most Canon printers are shipped with the printhead packed separately for home assembly anyway. Online suppliers are probably the best way to go for a replacement, but make sure it's a genuine Canon part.

Canon part number is: QY6-0072-000

It won't be cheap - it's probably the most expensive single component of the printer. In fact, you may want to ask yourself (depending on how much your printer cost new) if it would make more sense just to buy a new printer.

Typical of the manufacturer not to simply tell you what part needs replacing!

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:47 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 3
OS: xp



Best solution for Canon printer B200 error codes:

__________________
Charles Bukowsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2012, 07:19 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
OS: windows 7


Grin

I looked this up on Just Ask and fixed my printer! One of the possibilites is defective ink cartridges. I had installed a new cartridge a few days before that was leaking ink. It was a color and I normally print gray scale. The post on Just Ask said to clean the contacts where the ink cartridges sit with a damp q-tips until no ink comes off. I did this with the previously leaky cartridge only and the printer is working fine now
No need to buy a new print head or anything
__________________
pawpawgrower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 05:16 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 33
OS: windows7



Some useful tips have been given in this article and comments to fix this problem.
B200 Error
__________________
jkhes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:57 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp3,win7


Smile

Finally managed to rid my Canon MP640 of the B200 error. After flushing through the print head with water and isopropyl alcohol, I still got the error. I tried sliding the head to the left, leaving cover up and all the button combos that I'd seen, including pressing the 'on' button 5 times. I then saw the word 'rapidly' in one posting about pressing the 'on' button 5 times, and tried this after sliding the print head left and leaving the cover up, this got rid of the error and all working normally again, so try pressing 'on' rapidly 5 times on this model, it was the only thing that worked for me after the clean.

__________________
sandj.white is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I get a message "Error initializing output device"
Although my printer worked with Windows 7 about a month ago, suddenly one day, I got the above message. A Dell technician, himself, installed the driver to make the printer compatible with Windows 7 but it only worked for a few days after that. My printer is probably about 3 years old. I still...
funnierthanme Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 41 04-17-2012 02:35 PM
IE8 to IE9 upgrade issues + windows update code 2 error
I have recently tried to upgrade from IE8 to IE9 but when I tried to download IE9 (from microsoft site) it "worked" it would tell me it either has been installed succesfully or it'd tell me it didn't finish installing completely. When it did claim to have installed succesfully it asked me to...
jamespb95 Internet Explorer Forum 6 04-08-2012 07:10 PM
[computer restarts ]The system has recovered from a serious error
The system has recovered from a serious error My OS is Windows XP SP2 .. im facing big problem ... my computer got hanged and restart automatically 20 time in one day .. after restart i receiving this warning msg http://i.imgur.com/u7jrr.jpg
vipgaurav Windows XP Support 7 04-08-2012 06:52 PM
cmos checksum error
First of all my computer is a dell inspiron 530. Here it is my, when i start my pc it goes directly after showing the bios setting page to an error message which says cmos checksum error ... it give me the option to go to setup but i can't cause my usb keyboard is not recognized at all (and i...
callmemonsieur Motherboards, Bios & CPU 10 04-08-2012 06:25 PM
Intel 82915G/GV/910GL driver update: class installer error
Last night I tried running a program and got an error message saying that my pc did not support shader model 2.0. However, Intel's website shows that my chipset should support pixel shader model 2.0 Graphics — Pixel shader and vertex shader support I tried to uninstall and reinstall the...
Janderson7 Driver Support 5 04-08-2012 07:28 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts