Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

won't boot - strange beeps

This is a discussion on won't boot - strange beeps within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My son has a ACER 4720Z that exhibits the following: Upon startup it gets to the ACER screen and seems


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2012, 09:31 AM   #1
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



My son has a ACER 4720Z that exhibits the following:

Upon startup it gets to the ACER screen and seems to want to load an OS (progress bar moves to the right) but if allowed to continue it will emit a series of very loud beeps but will not boot (maybe for 30 seconds then stops). I can get into BIOS, and I've tired changing the boot sequence to the CD drive and inserting a Win7 disk, a Linux disk, and a boot&nuke disk - all to no avail. The beeps return regardless. Once I got to a "disk error" message but only once.

Any ideas to keep this one out of the recycle bin?

As always, thanks in advance.
yustr

__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:08 AM   #2
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,480
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


How many beeps? It could be video card or memory and both would prevent bootup into Windows but actually most likley video because you can get into bios.

__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 10:12 AM   #3
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,362
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Hi Yustr,

Could you try to let me know of what the beep order is? Example: 1 long beep and 2 short beeps.

Did you look at taking out 1 RAM at the time to see if it was bad?
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:30 AM   #4
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



The beeps are fast and regular. I got to 70 in less than a minute and lost count.

I took out each RAM and tried to fire it up - no luck. No luck also trying each in the other slot separately and together. So unless they're both bad its not the RAM.

Is there even a way to check the video?
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 11:38 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,116
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Here is the service manual http://tim.id.au/laptops/acer/aspire...720%204320.pdf there may be some troubleshooting steps in there
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:50 PM   #6
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Thanks joeten, but the hurried beeps does not appear as a fault symptom.

It did get to a screen that said:

Windows has encountered a problem communicating with a device...

File: \boot\BCD
Status: 0xc00000e9
Info: An unexpected I/O error has occurred

Continue or Exit

I removed and reseated the optical drive and the HD. No change.

Would trying a new HD help?
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 12:53 PM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,116
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi At this point and with that error you could be on to something see this post 2 New computer running Windows 7, unexpected I/O error 0xc00000e9 - Microsoft Answers
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:29 PM   #8
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,362
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Quote:
The beeps are fast and regular. I got to 70 in less than a minute and lost count.
The computer may be having a Short. Follow all the steps here:

POST troubleshooting steps.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 02:36 PM   #9
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



No help there.

Put in a new hd. Got it to see a b&n disk but wouldn't run. Tried various os disks and got the same error message each time:

BROADCOM UNDI PXE-2.1 v9.4.5
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
PXE-M0F: Existing Broadcom PXE ROM
Operating system not found
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 03:15 PM   #10
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,362
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Quote:
PXE-E61: Media test failure, check cable
Are you sure every cable is pluged in?

Put the orginal HDD back and and try to boot from the Windows CD. What happens same error?

You can try to use SeaTools and burn it to a CD. Then boot from that. See if that finds anything wrong with the HDD.

On top of using SeaTools you can also try MemTest86+.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 07:27 PM   #11
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



All cables are plugged in - as far as I can tell anyway.

No luck using the win disk. Memtest gives the same beeps.

I tried removing the HD from the boot sequence and made a little progress - got multiple messages saying "Operating System not found" when using either the Memtest disk or a flash drive with PCLinuxOS.iso.

I'll now try to remove the CD drive from the BIOS and see if that helps. USB stick = flashing....screen = OS not found...now filling the screen but no beeps. Letting it run
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2012, 07:43 PM   #12
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Nope...

Put the old HD back in and removed the CD drive from the boot sequence = beeps.

__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 09:11 AM   #13
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,362
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


The only thing left would be the mobo.

TBO I though it was a HDD problem. But if you changed HDD then I would believe the motherboard has failed.

Repeating Short Beep: No Power, Loose Card, or Short.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 11:17 AM   #14
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,480
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


I have to agree.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 02:32 PM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,116
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Seems you have gone through most things so it leaves but one thing
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 06:59 PM   #16
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Progress...after many attempts.

I replaced the CD drive with an external USB drive...progress.
I replaced the HD with a new one...progress.

I got it to load Win7...only to discover that the copy my son had was not a ligit copy. t would get to the "enter key" screen and of course I couldn't go farther. So I tried to load a WinXP disk that I knew was good but it kept saying no HD was found on the system. Huh???

I successfully loaded PCLinuxOS from 2007 and just downloaded the current version.

So the laptop works after replacing both the HD and the CD drive. Now I just have to get an OS I want to keep. I'm not sure why the XP disk won't work???

Anyway, thanks to all for the suggestions. I'll post back here as I move forward.

yustr
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 07:10 PM   #17
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,480
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


You probably need a sata driver for XP to insert as you are installing it as XP is so old now.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:28 AM   #18
Vetustior Humo
 
yustr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Soon to be Waterfront
Posts: 10,660
OS: Win 7 - PCLinuxOS



Where would I get one and how do I interrup the install to get it loaded?

I really don't want to spend $$$ for a Win7 OS - even though it would be most convenient. I may just stick to Linux.
__________________
"Climate Change is a moral issue because the rich world has disproportionately contributed to it and the poor world is disproportionately suffering," Church of England
yustr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 05:33 AM   #19
Team Manager - Hardware
 
Rich-M's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NE Pennsylvania
Posts: 7,480
OS: Windows 7 Professional

My System


As the install starts you will see "press F6 to add a driver" and that is where you add it in. You get the sata driver from the motherboard manufacturer site of cd if if you have one.
__________________


All PC's are not the same. Posting your PC specs will help us to assist you quicker and effectively.
Rich-M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 10:24 AM   #20
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,116
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Wonder why both drives decided to bite the dust looks like e may have been a tad premature since it is a laptop you could try the laptop makers support page for your model they may have the sata driver

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PC wont boot even to Bios, 3 beeps on power up
Hi all, I built a computer about 4 years ago with the following: Intel DP965LT MOBO Intel E6600 CPU 4 GB Kingston DDR2 RAM 450W PSU It has workd great forever, but suddenly I am having some strange issues. It all started when my computer would shut down after a few hours of continuous...
JT Mofo Motherboards, Bios & CPU 8 10-04-2011 06:42 PM
strange characters in BIOS/DOS and boot failure
http://www.flickr.com/photos/poorlyarticulated/5692082608/ I'm getting these strange characters showing up when I try to boot my desktop (ASUS mobo and graphics card) in BIOS and in DOS. It seems to alternate random lowercase and uppercase characters, as well as inserting other non-text...
abweissman Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 09-08-2011 01:13 PM
Windows XP Boot Problem
Ok so this happened today in the morning. I got up and went downstairs to check on the torrent I was downloading for GTA SA to play multiplayer on, then when I clicked on my computer to see how much GB I had left, the whole computer just went super slow, the my computer window popped up and the...
DioWolf Windows XP Support 3 06-05-2011 05:00 PM
[SOLVED] "No bootable devices", but boots from boot menu (strange)
On every normal boot I'm given a message stating "No bootable devices" tells me to hit F1 to try again or F2 for setup. No matter how many times I hit F1 it's still the same. But if I hold F12 during POST for the manual boot device selection menu, and I pick the boot device I'd like to boot from,...
christiansonk Motherboards, Bios & CPU 3 01-07-2011 04:24 PM
40 pin IDE = OK 80 pin IDE = reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot medi
Hey there guys and dolls. I have i strange problem. For about a month ago i had some problems with my pc which is a self build. I decided to clean the interior for dust. Everything was cleaning thourough. But when started up my pc loaded fine until the point where XP would start-up. Instead of...
LennoxReaper Hard Drive Support 2 01-07-2011 07:43 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:54 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts