Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Warning - cmos checksum invalid

This is a discussion on Warning - cmos checksum invalid within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, can somebody tell my why I get this warning - "cmos checksum invalid" everytime i turn on my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-29-2009, 11:13 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
OS: xp sp2



Hi there, can somebody tell my why I get this warning - "cmos checksum invalid" everytime i turn on my laptop. I have to shut it off and turning it back on again about 5 or 6 time before I can enter the system configuration. After I enter the system config, my system clock goes back to Aug 22, 2002 1:00am.

__________________
retsel25 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 12:01 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


The motherboard battery sounds like it needs to be changed. Not holding your cmos settings, which is why you get the warning and have to reset the time. Depending on the laptop, it may be hard to get to, check for a service manual for your model at your laptop's manufacturer's website.

__________________
grimx133 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 07:21 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
OS: xp sp2



The Seanix web site in not working, so there for I can not find any info on my laptop.

Here are my specs: Seanote Notebook, XP Home, SP3, and S/N:
__________________
retsel25 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 09:09 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
grimx133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada eh
Posts: 4,417
OS: xp mce sp2, xp pro sp2, windows 7 x86

My System


All I could get was the main seanix page, none of the links there worked. Don't know if it's down temporarily or otherwise. Tried searching for a manual, but was unsuccessful. Different brands of laptops aren't taken apart exactly the same, sure would make it easier with a service manual, they give precise instructions.
Have you tried contacting the company?
__________________
grimx133 is offline  
Old 03-30-2009, 10:56 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
OS: xp sp2



I'll contact them, thanks for your help.

__________________
retsel25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:42 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts