Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

Vaio shut down during restore to factory settings - Operation system not found

This is a discussion on Vaio shut down during restore to factory settings - Operation system not found within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Please help. Got to loan a new Sony Vaio from a friend , because my Mac was at the shop


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2012, 02:11 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1
OS: win8



Please help.
Got to loan a new Sony Vaio from a friend , because my Mac was at the shop for repair.
Now i'm about to give the Vaio back and thought of deleting my documents and personal stuff by 'restoring to factory settings' (found on this forum; ALT + F10).
Now did the laptop turn of due to no charge, in the middle of the process.

Now when i plugged it, and tried to start the laptop; this message pops up:
OPERATiNG SYSTEM NOT FOUND.

Please help. The laptop doesn't seem to work because there's no Windows recognized? (Sorry i'm no computer hero). The plan was to give the laptop back tomorrow.

Thank you very much for your help, i appreciate it.


kind Regards,
Celine

__________________
CSprenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:12 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: England, UK
Posts: 4,525
OS: Windows 7 x86 SP1



never attempt to run factory recovery on battery power. It should be possible to run factory recovery again, this time with the laptop plugged into the mains power socket.


You could have securely deleted your files without such a drastic measure, by using a "shredder" utility like Eraser: Eraser

That would not have affected Windows at all.

PS. I hope your friend didn't have any important stuff of his own on the laptop, becaused if he did you've wiped it off.

__________________
pip22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:45 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Techie19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 826
OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

My System

Send a message via AIM to Techie19
As pip22 mentioned, run recovery again, this time with the charger plugged in. The operation system not found message is because the restore was interrupted.
__________________
Passionate about IT. Been troubleshooting, repairing and building computers since 2006. Currently hold an Associate in Arts Degree in Computer Information Systems. Also currently pursuing the CompTIA A+ certification. Career goal and dream is to become a System Admin or Network Admin.
Techie19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google redirect virus
I'm receiving this click.gethotresults.com redirect every time I use google search in Firefox. Basically I've tried malwayreytes,unahck me,TDSSKiller and bitdefender but nothing detects this problem.Also I have my windows install disc/boot disc for windows 7 ultimate Dell version 32 bit. ....
jxsilicon9 Inactive Malware Help Topics 15 09-21-2012 10:46 PM
Unable to run ANY applications in Windows XP Pro
Unable to run ANY applications XP Pro History: My wife has a Dell Latitude 620 that was given to her by her former company so she could work from home in 2006. In 2009 after 30 years of stellar service to her company, she was dismissed over health issues. She was allowed to keep the laptop...
1Roadwarrior Windows XP Support 98 01-06-2012 08:13 PM
Possible worm/rootkit?
Hi /all- Recently I Have been having alot of slowdowns, lots of hanging programs/crashes, and most annoyingly people on my contact lists are recieving emails from me with ad's and links, that I did not send. ("uncoincedently" started about the time I let my siblings use my rig/user :upset: next...
BHM Resolved HJT Threads 7 02-15-2011 06:01 AM
Blue Screen [moved from Vista/7]
I don't know much about the pain in the bum Blue Screen but i have it. I was told to get the info from the Blue screen when it came up. Here it is - 0x00000077 (0xc000009d, 0xc000009d, 0x00000000, 0x289f4000) I just don't know where i got go from here lol. Can anyone help? Please :P
Death Keeper 34 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 4 02-02-2011 07:44 AM
How to disable your security applications
Note: Those which do not have the instructions for re-enabling are usually re-enabled by a reboot. Once the scans are completed, be sure to Turn On "Real-Time Scanning". Adaware 10 Free/Pro Antivirus Open Ad-aware 10 Click on "Real-time Protection" in the left panel, and toggle it...
amateur Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 0 06-14-2010 01:12 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:49 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts