Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

USB optical mouse works then doesn't work

This is a discussion on USB optical mouse works then doesn't work within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have been running Windows XP Professional service pack 3 on my laptop for several years now with the same


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2010, 07:23 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP Professional SP3



I have been running Windows XP Professional service pack 3 on my laptop for several years now with the same USB HID compatible optical mouse. It worked fine until about a month ago when it suddenly stopped working, I could not use it to move the cursor or click, but the mouse was still lit up. Since then I have been using the laptop's built-in touchpad.

Not long before the mouse stopped working I had installed a webcam, and I thought that might have caused the problem, so I uninstalled it, but that didn't help the mouse. I did a system restore and that seemed to help a little bit, I could use the mouse for several minutes after start up, until it stopped moving the cursor, then if I unplugged it from the USB port and plugged it back in again it would work for several minutes before going out again. After I updated all my anti-virus stuff and reinstalled everything I had lost in the system restore, I had to unplug the mouse more often, now it is irratic, sometimes it will work for several minutes, other times only a few seconds.
When it is working the mouse is listed as a HID compatable mouse in the device manager, when it isn't working it is listed as a Human Input Device with a little yellow exclamation point.
I tried shutting down the computer, unplugging it and taking out the battery. The result was the same as with the system restore.
I suspect some kind of conflict between the mouse driver and something else, but I can't think of what would be making it stop moving the cursor after it was working fine for a few minutes.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

__________________
grancher is offline  
Old 11-09-2010, 07:34 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
CriticalPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 907
OS: Windows 7 Ent x64

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by grancher View Post
when it isn't working it is listed as a Human Input Device with a little yellow exclamation point
Hi Grancher,

When it's listed as the above, it should show under USB (Universal Serial Bus controllers), correct? If this is the case, right-click and click 'Properties' and navigate to the 'Power' tab (I myself am using a desktop currently, so I'm speaking from memory!) and you should see that the Laptop has the ability to manage the power for your device - I.E: It can switch it on/off at will.

have a little look in to that and come back to us. If needs be, I can wipe the dust off of my Lenovo Laptop!

Cheers, Crit.

__________________
MEMTest ¦ Drive Fitness ¦ IMGBurn
Malware & Virus help ¦ Slow PC?

Looking for support with something else?
Microsoft ¦ Security ¦ Hardware ¦ Networking

Got an SSD?
Disable Defrag, SuperFetch and Prefetch!



*I do not always subscribe to threads*
If you're awaiting a reply after 24 hours, please PM me
CriticalPoint is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 04:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP Professional SP3



Nope,it says it's a Human Input Device and is listed under the heading Human Input Device. I did check the properties for my USB root hub though, and it said I had one USB port with a Human Input Device that takes 100mA and one that takes nothing. That seems right as I have two USB ports and I'm only using the one for the mouse, which appears to still be getting power because the light is still on.
__________________
grancher is offline  
Old 11-10-2010, 08:46 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP Professional SP3



I tried unchecking the box in USB root hub properties that says
"let the computer turn off this device to save power", but it make a difference, I unplugged the mouse and plugged it back in a gain, it worked for about a minute then quit.
__________________
grancher is offline  
Old 11-11-2010, 04:26 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
CriticalPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 907
OS: Windows 7 Ent x64

My System


Grancher,

Does the mouse 'give up' when you're not running it through the HUB? Theoretically, you can take the HUB out if you're only usign the 1 port?
__________________
MEMTest ¦ Drive Fitness ¦ IMGBurn
Malware & Virus help ¦ Slow PC?

Looking for support with something else?
Microsoft ¦ Security ¦ Hardware ¦ Networking

Got an SSD?
Disable Defrag, SuperFetch and Prefetch!



*I do not always subscribe to threads*
If you're awaiting a reply after 24 hours, please PM me
CriticalPoint is offline  
Old 11-12-2010, 04:38 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP Professional SP3



Not running it through the hub? What does that mean? The laptop has two USB ports, I'm not using any kind of external USB hub. In the device manager there are four USB root hubs listed, I figured they were interal things, only one of them shows the mouse under the power tab.
__________________
grancher is offline  
Old 11-15-2010, 03:44 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
OS: WinXP Professional SP3



This is rather embarrassing... I should have tried this before I posted. I bought a new mouse, and the new one works fine. Thank you very much for the help, I'm sorry about the trouble.

__________________
grancher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:13 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts