Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] white screen?

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] white screen? within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi everybody. I few days ago i started up my notebook ( i think i have it for two months


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-18-2012, 01:42 PM   #1
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens

Hi everybody. I few days ago i started up my notebook ( i think i have it for two months now) and after the booting process and the welcome screen i got a white screen. Today i got it again for two times now. I tried virusscanner avast and malwarebites anti malware and also a pc fast up tool from avg but nothing helped. My notebook is a HP Pavilion dv7-6c25eb.
Anyone knows if this is deangerous or not and what i should do to stop it?
Thx

__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:32 PM   #2
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Hi Ian! Glad to see you out of the offline section.

How long does the White screen stay on for? Have you tired to update the graphics driver?

__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:35 PM   #3
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
What you mean with offline section?. The screens stays something like 15 seconds or longer. I searched for new updates in device management but it found no new updates. Also tried HP update and it also said that all my drivers were up to date.
Thx
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:38 PM   #4
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Your drivers may be up-to-date but it may have installed incorrectly.

Go to HP's website and select the correct driver for your model and reinstall the driver. See if that does anything.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:41 PM   #5
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
Do I have to uninstall anything from my vid drivers or should i just install the new drivers for my amd radeon hd 6890 and 7690?
Thx
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:44 PM   #6
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Its no harm if you just reinstall over the old ones. The reinstall will remove the old files anyways.

Also what do you mean for your radeon HD 6890 and 7690. Do you have two GPU's in your laptop?
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:49 PM   #7
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
Yeah dual graphics. Im not sure its a hd 6890.
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 03:56 PM   #8
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Ok then yes reinstall both drivers.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 04:01 PM   #9
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
Kk thx. Will see when I can do it.
Thx
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 10:03 AM   #10
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens

So i did go to the HP website ( dutch one!)and looked for updates and drivers. There was a new one and i downloaded it. It asked to overwrite some files that already exist so i just pushed yes to all. But than a cmd screen popped up with the error. acces denied. What happened and is this bad for my pc?
tHX
__________________
IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:02 AM   #11
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


You are the adminstrator of the computer correct?

Go back to HP's website and download two drivers, the driver for the 6890 and 7690. It may be a two in one download.

Download both (or the bundle) and save them to your desktop.

Afterwards uninstall the drivers for the 6890 and 7690 and restart the computer. Once the computer has restarted run the .exe(s) you downloaded before.

-----

***Before you do what I said above plug your laptop to an external screen. Does the problem still happen?
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:11 AM   #12
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
I just started up my notebook and didnt had the problem. For the moment ill do nothing but if it happens once again i will take advantage of your help.
Thx
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 11:53 AM   #13
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Alright keep me updated then.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:48 AM   #14
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens

And just had the same problem again. Started up my notebook normally. On the login screen where i have to insert my fingerprint, the screen looked like safe mode. I logged on on my notebook and changed the resolution back to 1600x900, like normally. So i thought problem fixed but no... You know the task bar in the lowest part of the screen with the start button,... is normally kinda invisible so it has the colors of the background. Now its completely white again like the other time i had the white screen. I tried to change it but doesnt work.
I'll have to try this now I think:
You are the adminstrator of the computer correct?

Go back to HP's website and download two drivers, the driver for the 6890 and 7690. It may be a two in one download.

Download both (or the bundle) and save them to your desktop.

Afterwards uninstall the drivers for the 6890 and 7690 and restart the computer. Once the computer has restarted run the .exe(s) you downloaded before.

Let you know how it goes.THX
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 05:58 AM   #15
TSF Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 252
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP, 98



Hey,

If your laptop dosen't screen anything at all ( not even faint image) .. you can do few things to figure out your problem..

1. Observe your laptop's HDD light activity when you turn on..if is there any activity then try to connect an external monitor cable to laptop and see is there any screen..

2. if yes then your laptop may have bad lcd flex cable, or bad lcd ..

3. if there is no HDD LIGHT activity then you can do only one thing.. remove RAM cover screw pull out ram and replace again ... if you have 2 ram modules then plug in only one and try ..or it can bad graphic chipset , bad co-processor ..


IF lcd shows image without light then

1. either your FL INVERTER CIRCUIT bad

2. LCD cable..

3. LCD ( due to blew your lcd's ccfl light )


.. Good luck
__________________
Sysesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 06:41 AM   #16
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
My laptop seems to be completely f*cked up now. I tried to install new drivers but forgot to delete the old ones. Now when i try to start up the pc its just the windows logo and rhen forever a black screen. Press the power button and go in safe mode but cant log in with my acc bucause my password also seems to be deleted. When i go in with my bros acc i dont have access to delete the drivers. PLEASE HELP ME!! My notebook is only 5 months old..
Thx
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:00 AM   #17
TSF Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 252
OS: Windows 7, Vista, XP, 98



You get this?




If yes:

Corrupted User Account – Computer Boots to Black Screen

If you have logged into Windows, so you actually saw the login screen, then logged into Windows, this can mean a few different things. One is that it can be a corrupted user account. In this case it would be handy to have another user account to login to. Then you would be able to tell straight away if that was the problem or not. If you can log into another account you will be able to access the corrupted user account through the main hard drive which is usually called C: drive. You will see a folder called “users” and then there will be another folder for the actual username.

Black screen on startup – Your CPU is not correctly seated

If your computer has a black screen after transporting one place to another, this is the first place I look. Transporting a working computer, and then not working with a black screen = dislodging the CPU. You can fix this easily by removing the CPU fan and carefully replacing it back in its spot. You may also have to replace some thermal paste between the cpu and heat sink as it stops the cpu from overheating. Be very careful not to bend any pins when dealing with your computer CPU.

RAM

If your memory is not seated properly (not in), is damaged, or even absent altogether, this can cause a black screen.
  1. If you have no memory installed at all, some computers make no sounds and just show a black screen on startup. Other computers go crazy and beep their head off. I am an expert at this one, as I build so my computers.
  2. When your computer gets a black screen only sometimes, it usually means your ram is on the way out..For example if you boot your computer and it doesn’t work, then go back an hour later, and it does work, your memory is playing up. You can try taking the ram out, gently cleaning it with an antistatic cloth, and replacing it. This may solve your problem. If it does not, then you should try running your computer with another compatible stick of ram installed.
__________________
Sysesc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 08:06 AM   #18
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
Yep. Now trying to do a system restpre from the boothup menu. Tried a few but got a few errors and now it seems to go further.
__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:19 AM   #19
Moderator
- Hardware Team
- Articles Team
- Microsoft Support
 
Masterchiefxx17's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 24,956
OS: Windows 7 64bit Professional (SP1), Windows 8.1 64bit

My System


Do you have the Windows Boot Disk?

When booting into Safe Mode enter your text password and not the fingerprint. You need to enter safe mode or normal Windows.
__________________
I recommend these:
Windows 7 & 8.1, Office 2013, Photoshop CS6, IE11
Security Essentials, Asus, Dell, Samsung,
Intel, NVidia, Xbox One, Android, Gigabyte
Masterchiefxx17 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2012, 10:52 AM   #20
Games Team | Tech
 
IanHanssens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,299
OS: Windows 7 64 bit

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to IanHanssens
Fixed again but dont know how it happened...
Talk to you later when im back away from my phone.

__________________

HELLO FSG!

IanHanssens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
White screen on login, help please =)
I have an acer 5943G running windows 7 home premium SP1 64-bit. My video card is ATI Radeon HD 5850. My screen works fine during the boot up and "Starting Windows" screen, however when it gets to the login screen (welcome screen) the whole screen goes white. Windows logs in and continues to run...
Billogi Video Card Support 1 10-13-2011 10:34 AM
White blank screen
Hi I have a dell experion? I have had, at first, intermitted problems with the screen display but is now constant, in that, I have a white blank screen. I would appreciate some advice.
wisegirl1 Laptop Support 2 09-25-2011 04:09 PM
Laptop crashed with white screen and blue stripes
Well, when i logged in, the Webroot Security said it will expire in 3 days, i dismissed it...opened up minecraft, being the second day after 1.8, I destroyed a block in minecraft, and my computer crashed with a white screen and blue stripes going verticly down. I panicked and spamed the ctrl alt...
Explosm357 Laptop Support 3 09-21-2011 06:42 PM
XP: Black screen, white cursor..... Help!!!!
Hi guys, I'm having some trouble with my computer and I'm hoping someone can help, it is a Dell system 8400 with a pentium 4, 3GHz Processor and 512Mb RAM. Basically I was working away on my computer and I think I got the "blue screen of death". I thought the computer would be OK if I restarted...
watto23 Windows XP Support 5 03-31-2011 07:27 AM
HELP-Computer stuck on black screen with blinking white cursor
One day i switched off my computer as normal and the next time i switched it back on, i experienced this problem. I havnt made any changes to my system recently-software, hardware or otherwise. I would say my computing skills are at an intermediate level, but im really stuck with this problem. ...
thisisoracle Motherboards, Bios & CPU 13 03-08-2011 10:15 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts