Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Toshiba A210 Recovery Partition

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Toshiba A210 Recovery Partition within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, I'm looking to find out what key I need to press at start up to access the recovery


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-23-2008, 11:05 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2



Hello all,
I'm looking to find out what key I need to press at start up to access the recovery partition on my toshiba satellite A210-FS3. I've tried the usual F12, F11, F1, F2 and the toshiba recommended 0 (zeo) for the closest model I could find on the wesite for it. Anyone have a clue how to start recovery on this thing?

__________________
Sparky09 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 11:19 AM   #2
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,560
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi. . .

The only one I see not listed is F10 - did you try it?

Also - have you tried to invoke recover via the start menu? Try -
START | type recovery - see what options are available.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.

jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 01:33 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2



Ah darn. Nope hadn't tried it.. didnt' work tho :(. I can't get into vista to try to invoke the repair unfortunatly. I had recovery disks made but it gets an error on the last disk and no wget File: \Windows\System32\Winload.exe error at startup and can't get further. Tried another vista upgrade disk I had available to me and that doesnt seem to work at all. Thought maybe there's soemthing with toshiba that has to be done to get the reload to go through. Hoping if I can get the recovery on the hdd to load I can get it done through that. Thanks for the suggestions.. not sure where to go from here. hmmm
__________________
Sparky09 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 02:11 PM   #4
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: BSOD CENTRAL
Posts: 30,560
OS: Windows 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



I'm looking for your owner's manual on-line and cannot find toshiba satellite A210-FS3

Just want to see if any other options available to you.

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/t.../jsp/home.jsp#

You may be able to order recovery Vista DVDs - usually < USD $20

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 02:59 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



I am beginning to think that creating recovery disks in Vista is useless. I hear the same story all the time about them. Although it might be more of a manufacturer issue than OS related.
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 12-23-2008, 05:20 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 52,356
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm


Thumbs Up

try here http://www.csd.toshiba.com/cgi-bin/t...sp/askIris.jsp on the search tool type satellite A210/A215 you should get below

Satellite A210 / A215 User Guide (4) (GMAD00173010_08Feb15) -- Page: 61

...recovery options: ❖ Hard Disk Drive Recovery using the recovery partition...Satellite A210 / A215 User Guide (4) (GMAD00173010_08Feb15) -- Page: 61 ...
Published 4/2/08

Satellite A210 / A215 User Guide (4) (GMAD00173010_08Feb15) -- Page: 59

...disk drive to the factory-set default without the HDD Recovery partition...Satellite A210 / A215 User Guide (4) (GMAD00173010_08Feb15) -- Page: 59 ...
Published 4/2/08 | Rating:

Satellite A210 / A215 User Guide (4) (GMAD00173010_08Feb15) -- Page: 64

partitions (for example, a D: drive) those partitions and any information on them will not be affected and will remain intact. To recover only your C: drive: 1 On the Toshiba Recovery Wizard Screen, select Recovery...
Published 4/2/08 | Rating:
all found on toshiba site also it says press zero while powering on computer so cold boot and press and hold hope it works
__________________
joeten is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 10:09 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2



Awesome thanks, I'll try that and update after the xmas holidays here. Appreciate all the help!
__________________
Sparky09 is offline  
Old 12-31-2008, 08:37 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 86
OS: XP Home SP2



Well I tried your suggestion and it didn't seem to help. I found another thread talking about the same issues and tried their two suggestions--bad hdd and ram issue. Turns out in most cases it was a bad hard drive. In mine it was the first slot for ram was bad. For anyone else experiencing this problem it has also been common that if you've upgraded the RAM since you've owned it, the recovery disks will only work if the hardware configuration is the same so some people had to take out the upgraded ram, load the recovery disks and then put the RAM back in once they were finished. Thanks everyone for the help.
__________________
Sparky09 is offline  
Old 11-18-2010, 06:42 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
OS: windows7homeprem



thanks! for the info The Harddrive messed up but the recovery part was still okay so the holding down "0" zero thing got me back into the toshiba recovery program
Thanks again

__________________
lewchris is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts