Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Hardware Support > Laptop Support

[SOLVED] Synaptics Touchpad not working

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Synaptics Touchpad not working within the Laptop Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello - I recently cleaned up my Asus Eee PC 1005HA netbook. Shortly after doing this, my touchpad stopped working.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-18-2011, 01:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



Hello -

I recently cleaned up my Asus Eee PC 1005HA netbook. Shortly after doing this, my touchpad stopped working. I believe it started when I deleted an entry in CCleaner in the startup section.

I looked through device manager and it isn't listed. I then uninstalled/reinstalled the driver from Synaptics website. It still doesn't work or show up in device manager. I tried uninstalling and reinstalling with a driver from the Asus website, but now I am told I have to uninstall the previous version, which I already did.

I found a link in another thread to something like hardware tester, can't remember the name. I installed it and the device shows up there. Basically I know it isn't physically damaged, and I know it is connected properly.

I am running Windows XP. Any help would be very much appreciated.

__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:11 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi did you try system restore to a time before using ccleaner

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:35 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



Unfortunately I deleted all the system restore points and then disabled the system restore altogether.

Not the smartest of moves.
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:36 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Try installing the driver via device manager update driver and point windows to the driver download
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:46 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



It is still not showing up in device manager, so I don't think I can do that. It only shows up in the other program (I looked it up its called 'test my hardware').
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 01:48 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi can you try scanning for hardware changes
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-18-2011, 02:15 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



When I do that the list in device manager just refreshes, and nothing new shows up.

I also tried the add hardware wizard and that can't find anything either.
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 12:02 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Ok let try installing the chipset first then try the touchpad ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Eee- ASUS Eee PC 1005HA (Seashell)
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-19-2011, 05:51 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



Okay. I installed the chip set driver, and after that it allowed me to reinstall the synaptics touchpad driver. After rebooting it still didn't work. I went to CP > mice and got this message before the properties box popped up:



"Unable to connect to the Synaptics pointing device driver.

If you have installed another ps/2 pointing device driver please uninstall the Synaptics driver by clicking on the yes button. You then need to reinstall your pointing device driver for your external device again.

Do you want to uninstall the Synaptics driver now?"



I clicked no. Touchpad still didn't appear in device manager or CP > mice. Then I did uninstall the Synaptics driver, and reinstall it again, and still nothing. Went back to CP > mice and got same message as above. Clicked yes this time instead of no, and still couldn't get it working. It has still never showed up in device manager yet either.
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 07:39 AM   #10
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi is there anything else showing next to device in device manager are you using just the xp drivers
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 04-20-2011, 05:59 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



in device manager the only thing showing up under mice is the trackball usb mouse I have plugged in.

i only used the xp drivers. should i try a different os? i'm running xp on this machine.
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:49 AM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi check the asus site for the chipset and install it then try the driver again
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 01:18 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



tried that, still nothing, not even showing up in device manager...
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 10:46 AM   #14
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi is this still under warranty
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 01:22 PM   #15
GZ
Team Manager
- Hardware
- Microsoft Support
 
GZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 25,097
OS: Windows 8 Professional x64

My System

Send a message via AIM to GZ Send a message via Yahoo to GZ

Try removing the USB mouse and using the touchpad without it plugged in.
__________________
Please be advised. If your thread is answered and there is no reply within 30 days the thread will be closed. If you need continued assistance after that, please PM myself or another staff member to have the thread opened. Thank you.
GZ is offline  
Old 05-05-2011, 03:20 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 30
OS: 7, xp



EDIT: Fixed, The touchpad was plugged in the wrong place on the MOBO.

Thanks for your help!
__________________
luderdune is offline  
Old 05-06-2011, 09:23 AM   #17
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,903
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi glad it was that simple should have thought of that

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Belkin 54G Router can't connect, 192.168.2.1 not working!
Here's the story. My belkin 54G was working few years now. Just hours ago, I try to connect my iphone 3GS with belkin wifi. I go to the 192.168.2.1 (on my laptop - wifi), MAC address filtering and enable it. After insert my iphone 3gs ip address i press OK. Here's the nightmare begin, after...
alexiolim Protocols and Routing 3 04-18-2011 06:04 AM
[SOLVED] HP G62 374CA touchpad not working
Hi I have this 2-month old laptop: * HP G62 374CA * Intel Core i5 * 4.00 GB RAM * 64-bit OS * Windows 7 Home Premium.
jusatsking Laptop Support 7 03-20-2011 12:56 PM
mouse touchpad not working on laptop
Hi The mouse touchpad on my laptop has stopped working. I have put in another mouse in the meantime into the usb port. Any suggestions as to how I might get the mouse working again on my laptop. Its a toshiba model.
louiselynch Other Hardware Support 2 02-23-2011 08:09 PM
Dell Inspiron 1420 Alps Touchpad No Longer Working
For about two months now, the touchpad on my Dell Inspiron 1420 has not worked properly. The touchpad does not respond to touch (at all) nor do the buttons work. Additionally, the touchpad driver does not show up in "Device Manager" at all. The files do still exist under "Dell Drivers" though...
AJAces Laptop Support 1 02-12-2011 02:00 PM
An urgent problem with HP pavilion dv6 (Touchpad).
Hello guys Please I have a problem in my laptop since a month ago. The trouble is that in many times when I open a file, document, or any internet browser, the vertical bar of the file moves down automatically to the end of the page without prompting from me to do that. ...
samiralbayati Other Hardware Support 0 01-04-2011 11:26 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts